|
-
April 27th, 2005, 02:33 AM
#1
Google typo site not just ads
A computer in my network was hit with this yesterday:
Reader Alan Phelps wrote in this morning to alert us to a malicious site that has registered a domain that might be entered as a typo for google.com. DO NOT VISIT THIS SITE! Visiting this site installs about 49 pieces of spyware, uses the local hosts file to block access to popular anti-virus websites, and offers a link to a website that sells AV and anti-spyware tools with the slogan "We help people"... No comment...
Administrators might want to do a quick check on their DNS cache records to see if any users have resolved anything matching "googkle" lately, and then have field support visit the (likely) infested workstations.
from http://isc.sans.org
Government is like fire - a handy servant, but a dangerous master - George Washington
Government is not reason, it is not eloquence - it is force. - George Washington.
Join the UnError community!
Posting Permissions
- You may not post new threads
- You may not post replies
- You may not post attachments
- You may not edit your posts
-
Forum Rules
|
|