A new cable moden, help
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: A new cable moden, help

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    2

    A new cable moden, help

    Hey I have just got a cable moden hooked up to my computer. What I need to know is what all do i need to do to stop someone from hacking into my computer. Please give details new to this stuff


    Thanks Wsef
    Share on Google+

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    412
    If your not too au fait with the intricacies of network security, my advice would be to stick a software firewall on there asap, a full time internet connection exposes you to a whole bag of worms and something like zone alarm or tiny personal firewall will deter all but the most ardent attacker.
    Do a search on google for either of the above to get the url's.
    Share on Google+

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    2

    firewall

    If I put on firewall on my system. Will it affect my speed of the cable modum. I tried norton firewall for a few min. and my speed was like having a phone line again. I don't know if it was the firewall or something else causing the slow speeds
    Share on Google+

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    412
    Nah, if you've a decent pc the performance hit shouldn't be too bad - i've got my modem connected to a 166mhz pc running linux and it runs ok.
    Share on Google+

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    136
    If you have a home network, I would recommend you spend 100 bucks and get a router.

    If it is a stand alone puter, ZoneAlarm at www.zonelabs.com or TPF at www.tinysoftware.com are the most highly recommended.

    TPF has advanced features while ZA offers ease of use.
    KapperDog
    Share on Google+

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    752

    Lightbulb

    Go to zonelabs.com and get zonealarm. I use it, and love it. That should be all you need to do.

    If you have a home network, you should invest in a router. You will spend about $100. If you get one, get a Linksys router. It has an excellent firewall, and is relatively easy to manage.
    Share on Google+

  7. #7
    Senior Member faust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Chicagoland/Murphysboro
    Posts
    105
    Use Win 2k, use 2 nics and do NAT
    or Use zonealarm AND some other firewall. i.e tiny personal firewall or blackice defender
    Share on Google+

  8. #8
    Share on Google+

  9. #9

    Post

    One major point when switching to cable is that your Ip number stays the same (static), which makes you alot more vulnerable to attacks
    Share on Google+

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    412
    I'm afraid that's simply not the case, i've got a cable modem and it uses dhcp. If i were to have my machine off for more than 4 hours it would get a new ip address - not that i do have my machine off for more than four hours, or at all - i use a linux firewall which stays connected all the time, i bring my dual boot main pc up and down all the time though.
    Share on Google+

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •