NET command help in MS-DOS please
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: NET command help in MS-DOS please

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    56

    NET command help in MS-DOS please

    Whenever I try to use the NET command (i.e. net use or something), it says I need to logon. Yet when I type NET LOGON, it tells me I can't do that from the DOS prompt. How exactly can I use the NET command?
    Share on Google+

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    111
    type
    net start
    if it will not work then you are an untrusted user to your computer

    bye
    If God had intended
    Man to program,
    we would be born
    with serial I/O ports.
    Share on Google+

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    196

    Re: NET command help in MS-DOS please

    Originally posted by Nitro
    Whenever I try to use the NET command (i.e. net use or something), it says I need to logon. Yet when I type NET LOGON, it tells me I can't do that from the DOS prompt. How exactly can I use the NET command?
    Are you trying to see current connections to your machine or are you trying to use the command line version for manual net mappings and bindings?
    Share on Google+

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    56
    Okay, I typed net start, and it says "the command was completed successfully." Then I tried net use and the other commands, and it told me "Error 3787: You must logon before performming this operation." So I tried net logon..."Error 3547: You cannot do this from within an MS-DOS window." Are the NET commands just for LANs? If I understood correctly, I should be able to use the NET commands to connect to other computers...So I could use net use and then the person's IP address and connect to a shared resource...I just have to play around with it a little more and read some more information.
    Share on Google+

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    175

    MS-DOS NET command

    The reason your having problems is because the syntax is wrong.

    Try Typing:

    C:Windows>NET USE /?

    This will display how to use the NET USE command

    If all the information scrolls off the screen and you can't read the top part...Type the following:

    C:\Windows>NET USE /? >> C:\netuse.txt

    This will create a file on your C drive called netuse.txt and it will contain the way to use the NET USE command.

    If your still having problems..just drop a line and I will be more than happy to help you.

    Hope this has helped!
    Simon Templer

    \"Your work is to discover your world and then with all your heart give yourself to it. \"
    -The Buddha
    Share on Google+

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    56
    I also know of a way to gain share access by using nbtstat to gain info on a host, then using LMHOSTS.SAM you can type in the ip address, share name, and then #pre. How am I doing so far lol...I just can't figure out how to actually connect to the shares...Or does share accessing only apply to LANs? (I am trying to connect via the internet). Can anyone who knows about this kind of thing help me out a little? or atleast point me in the right direction lol.
    Share on Google+

  7. #7
    Read carefully:

    Error 3547: You cannot do this from within an MS-DOS window
    This most likely means that you cannot use it from a MS-DOS shell. Reboot in dos mode. If you do not have a OS that supports DOS mode anymore press F8 when it says "Starting MS-Windows..." or something to that extent. For ME press it when the little underscore is flashing on the upper left.
    Tsk Tsk that \'vB Code is ON\' is really tempting me.. No bad prof.! BAD!
    Share on Google+

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    412
    Out of curiosity, why do you want to use the net use command if your not on a lan? Mapping shares to your hard drive is lame - your not "hacking" when you do that, your just taking advantage of peoples stupidity.
    Share on Google+

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    56
    I am not trying to "hack", I am learning about the windows OS to increase my knowledge. I am going to school to be a computer security specialist so I need to know about such things as the NET command lol...Even if it is "lame" as you so kindly put it.
    Share on Google+

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    412
    Mmmm, school to be a computer security specialist, maybe you should go to school to be a computer user first.
    There's nothing lame about the net command btw, you misunderstood my post - the net command is an invaluable tool to a sysadmin, malevolent use of the net command is hella lame though.
    Share on Google+

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •