A newbies question about servers running on NT...
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: A newbies question about servers running on NT...

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    7

    A newbies question about servers running on NT...

    Hey what's up?

    I have a question about NT servers... I'm trying to test my friends security on his server, and I know it's running on NT.

    So I'm trying the command in DOS that's like:
    net view \\(the ip addy)

    But I get "Error 3545: You cannot start or stop the network from within an MS-DOS window."

    :| Does anyone know what this means? Or am I missing something?


    Thanks.
    When the laws of God just make ya pissed, you better become an athiest.
    Dead, dead, dead, dead. Your god is dead to me.
    Share on Google+

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    412
    Instead of doing that, you could ensure that whatever device connects him to the internet (modem/network card) has only tcp/ip bound to it - nothing else - and if he's running an NT server he should have /some/ sort of firewall anyway, its common sense.
    Share on Google+

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    7
    Well, I know he has a firewall on it.
    When the laws of God just make ya pissed, you better become an athiest.
    Dead, dead, dead, dead. Your god is dead to me.
    Share on Google+

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    412
    Then tell him to make sure tcp port 137 is closed to all external traffic, that would be enough to thwart any net viewing.
    While he's at it he should also close up *all* ports apart from the ones he really needs - if you need a hand with that, i'd be only too glad to help ;-)
    Share on Google+

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    7
    Thanks man. The only things he has open are 80 and 135. But nothing else. I am also still learning about everything, so I basicly don't know sh*t.
    When the laws of God just make ya pissed, you better become an athiest.
    Dead, dead, dead, dead. Your god is dead to me.
    Share on Google+

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    412
    Why has he got port 135 open? Is he using exchange? If he his and needs the remote procedure call i think he may need some ports open higher up in the dynamic range >1023
    hth
    Share on Google+

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    7
    Well, I don't know why it's open. But it is. And I'm not sure what 'exchange' is either. :|

    But I'm still trying to test it, see how secure it is, and also learn alot about how all this (my computer, servers, etc) works.
    When the laws of God just make ya pissed, you better become an athiest.
    Dead, dead, dead, dead. Your god is dead to me.
    Share on Google+

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides