Question on Root
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Question on Root

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    800

    Question on Root

    I have Red Hat 7.1 and when I try logging in remotely as root it won't let me. It keeps saying login incorrect.
    How do I make it so that I can login as root using telnet?
    Help would be appreciated.

    And when I configure ipchains do I have to rebuild the kernel?
    thanx in advance.
    [gloworange]\"A hacker is someone who has a passion for technology, someone who is possessed by a desire to figure out how things work.\" [/gloworange]
    Share on Google+

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    800
    And the test user I made doesn't work either.
    But if I make another user it lets me log on but root still won't.
    [gloworange]\"A hacker is someone who has a passion for technology, someone who is possessed by a desire to figure out how things work.\" [/gloworange]
    Share on Google+

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    44
    Are you even running the telnet services? be sur3e they are installed, and remember that ENABLING remote root login is a stupid thing to do.

    OverandOut.
    comJo
    OverandOut.
    ~comJo

    ---....Loading: 1x 2x 3x
    Share on Google+

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    800
    Nobody can access it from the outside. I just have it on a local network. We have a ADSL router for internet. There is no way to access it other than the local net.
    [gloworange]\"A hacker is someone who has a passion for technology, someone who is possessed by a desire to figure out how things work.\" [/gloworange]
    Share on Google+

  5. #5
    Senior Member linuxcomando's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    432
    Here is what i would do. If you really really want telnet enabled well thats your thing so ill help ya out. in your /etc/hosts.allow just put the ip and hostname in that file and you should be good. But what i would do is use ssh. SSH allows for i thing 128 bit encryption for every packet.....that way if your network is compromised they will have a much harder time "sniffing"your packets.If you have any other questions or the hosts.allow doesnt work you still have a few other options.
    Share on Google+

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    18

    Post

    If you get to the logon prompt, then telnet services are running fine.

    The reason you can't login as root, is because telnet does not alow that.(there is no way to change this, that I know of)
    You must log in as a normal user, and then su to root.

    If the user you log in as cannot su to root, check and make sure that user is part of the wheel group, in /etc/group.

    SSH is the same way, it will not let you login as root directly either. However unlike telnet SSH's configureation has a peramiter to allow root logins, although I do not recommend that since its a major security issue.
    Share on Google+

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    800
    How do you use su?
    [gloworange]\"A hacker is someone who has a passion for technology, someone who is possessed by a desire to figure out how things work.\" [/gloworange]
    Share on Google+

  8. #8
    Old-Fogey:Addicts founder Terr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    2,007
    Now, I don't use *nix...

    But I believe SU stands for Substitute User (Not SuperUser), and you invoke it like such:

    "su rootpassword" to log in as root, or
    "su username userpassword" to change to username.
    [HvC]Terr: L33T Technical Proficiency
    Share on Google+

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    9

    su root

    It's really simple, if your in the wheel group just enter su at the prompt.
    Enter root passwd and that's it. =)
    Share on Google+

  10. #10
    Senior Member linuxcomando's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    432
    actually ssh does allow for root conection as does telnet
    the ssh command would be as follows
    ssh -l root x.x.x.x then it will promt for the password and bing your in
    do a man on telnet and im almost positive you can log in directly as root
    Share on Google+

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •