Ftp
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Ftp

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    45

    Ftp

    Wassup AlL,

    I need help with The FTP command on Ms Dos....... Me and a friend were trying to learn how to use this comand, and i could never get it to connect...... when i tyoe in FTP and then i type open and then i type the IP, but it never fully connects, can sumn please help!!!!
    Share on Google+

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    170

    Arrow

    What version of Windows are you using? - the FTP client is different in each one.

    I suspect, though, that the problem is that you have to use "USER" command to log in. For example, if you don't have an account on the ftp server you are logging into - you would do a "USER anonymous" to log in anonymously.
    \"If you torture the data enough, it will confess.\" --Ronald Coase
    Share on Google+

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    45
    I am using 98 and hmmmmm the computer im getting to is ME so can you teach me ME also? cause i will be switching around...... i dont any TCP thingys so i cannot connect it through a network, thank you
    Share on Google+

  4. #4
    Old-Fogey:Addicts founder Terr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    2,007
    AFAIK, with Win98, the dos FTP command goes like this:

    C:\WINDOWS>ftp
    ftp> open server.com
    Connected to planettribes.com.
    220 Server Host program.
    User (server.com:(none)): Enter Username
    331 Password required for Username
    Password: Enter password here. Will not show.
    230 User Username logged in.
    ftp>

    And after that you use basic commands like cd, del, send, get, copy...

    So you should be prompted for a username/pass combo. At any time while running MS-dos FTP, just type in "?" to see a list of commands, or "? Command" to get help on what Command does.
    [HvC]Terr: L33T Technical Proficiency
    Share on Google+

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    45
    I thought you could connect to a users computers.......
    Share on Google+

  6. #6
    Old-Fogey:Addicts founder Terr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    2,007
    Originally posted by bizzybutlazy
    I thought you could connect to a users computers.......
    PLEASE don't tell me you tried the IP address of a computer you knew was running an FTP server... And not just any old computer. Otherwise I think you are mixing FTP up with Windows Shares.
    [HvC]Terr: L33T Technical Proficiency
    Share on Google+

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •