PC Anywhere
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: PC Anywhere

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    2

    PC Anywhere

    how secure would you guess rate using pc-a via cable modem to connect to an office lan? lan w/netware 5.1 and border manager and home with black ice fw.
    Share on Google+

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    752
    It would be pretty secure as long as you configure it right. As long as you don't have BlackIce set on "trusting" you should be OK. But what does that have to do with PCAnywhere?
    Share on Google+

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    27
    But if you don't configure it right, you've just opened a GAPING hole into your network.

    I wouldn't reccomend using PC-A to connect to your companies network. Is this for administrative purposes, check your email, or just to have access?

    PeacE,

    Pr3shuR
    ----------
    Always
    Share on Google+

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    101

    Thumbs down Security anyone?

    Not with PC Anywhere. The only time they use pc-anywhere at my work is through a dial-up connection. Never, NEVER connected through the internet.
    - Stronzo

    \"Vini, Vici, Vidi\"
    I came, I saw, I conquered.
    - Julius Caesar
    Share on Google+

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    752
    I don't think the question involves PCAnywhere, but if it indeed does, I would have to agree. It would be about the same as handing one's computer to the hackers.
    Share on Google+

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    27
    Good call stflook, I guess we need to know what exactly is being asked here.
    Pr3shuR
    ----------
    always
    Share on Google+

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    4,786
    PCanywhere dosn't intend its product to be used that way. If you look on the installation disk they include a demo of checkpoints vpn client. they did on version 9 anyway.
    Share on Google+

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    267

    Alter the ports

    If you must use PC Anywhere to enter your network:

    1. Install it on a computer that requires a secure login to your
    network and computer. NOT Windows 98, where the ESC
    key bypasses the logon.

    2. Have your Firewall configured to allow 2 'alternate' ports to
    pass through (to the PC A enabled puter). Default ports are 5631/5632. Change them !!

    3. If it's behind a Firewall, PC Anywhere does not advertise it's
    presence making it harder to detect.

    The user MUST know the IP address, and the alternate ports to enter the system. Then they must first pass the PC Anwhere security and then the Network Logon.
    Share on Google+

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •