promiscuous mode
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: promiscuous mode

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    4

    Question promiscuous mode

    I am trying to figure out how to set my Network card to promiscuous mode.
    I am running Windows ME.

    Is that a techinical term 'promiscuous mode'?


    -Fubar
    Share on Google+

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    37
    Does the network card support 'promiscuous mode'? And yes it is a technical term.

    Promiscuous mode is a state in which a network adapter card copies all the frames that pass over the network to a local buffer, regardless of the destination address. This mode enables Network Monitor to capture and display all network traffic.
    Regards,
    Geno

    \"Disciples, like diamonds, are developed in a process of time and heavy pressures, and both the disciple and the diamond reflect and magnify the light that comes through them.\"

    Neal A. Maxwell
    Share on Google+

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    77
    You will need a device driver to support P mode, there is libpcap for *nix and win32, not sure if there is a version available for ME yet.

    http://www.tcpdump.org/

    cheers
    I\'m not a BOT I\'m a beer droid!
    Prepare to be Assimilated.
    Share on Google+

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    90

    Talking Pro..

    My computer is set to.. promiscuous mode.. Unfortunately.. it can't keep its cord out of my commodores port.. hmm.. it's in promiscuous sex mode.. now I got it.. and.. I suppose it's got some jungle fever.. I saw it going for the VCR..

    =]:
    ~zѰFF~

    Elen sila lumenn omentielvo..
    Share on Google+

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    355

    Wink

    talk about hard-drive....
    Share on Google+

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    16
    uhh ok......

    rPc
    Share on Google+

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    429
    Run Linux

    J.
    Share on Google+

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    27

    Application

    Are you just trying to set up your NIC in Promiscuous mode, or are you trying to get a sniffer to work? Just setting in up in promiscuous mode won't get you anywhere if you don't have software to interpret and capture the packets.

    Try NATAS if you want a lightweight easy sniffer for Win and the winpcap packet capturing driver if your nic supports it.

    Pr3shuR
    ----------
    Always
    Share on Google+

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    4
    I am going to code my own sniffer. I just need to know if there is a manual way to turn promiscuous mode on, or if I can code it in my program.

    -Fubar
    my goal in life is for infinite knowledge
    Share on Google+

  10. #10
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    168
    run linux?
    Share on Google+

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides