Thread: Sub7?

Sub7?

How does this Trojan work? Sorry is this question has been brought up tons of times also! I'm a newbie and I don't understand all this stuff but I'd like to! I thought in order for someone to infect another with this Trojan, they had to email the victim the server. Now, since I've been online, someone has tried to infect me without emailing it to me but by sending it to my IP?! I'm totally confused here ad any info would be greatly appreciated! Thanks everybody and sorry once again if this has already been asked!!!!

NEVERMIND!

I'm starting to figure it all out people so NEVERMIND and sorry to dis. subseven!

trojans...

i'm still learninga bout the dangerousness (is that a word) of open ports on the computer, but most often, trojans are spread via emails and such. IP numbers are used to help make a connection betweent he trojan and the cracker. if you have more specific questions, please post a more precise entry.
    visit clublouie.com!!

Ok, how about this on the same subject as to how it works! I have Norton internet security and sometimes I get a notification indicating that it (norton) has blocked an attempted connection or something like that against the subseven trojan? Once again, I thought in order to use that program the server.exe had to be emailed to the victim. That's all I want to know, man! How are they doing this??? I appreciate the response by the way..

Just a Virtualized Geek MrLinus's Avatar

Talking

Hi emmagatorone,

When you see a notification that someone has attempted to connect to you via port 12345 or port 27374, that's just someone "playing" with subseven trying to find people who have the server portion installed. They use the scanner portion of the trojan to see what victims they have out there.

I know my ISP doesn't view those kinds of scans lightly. If you are getting a few, notify your ISP as to who is doing it.