cable internet - Page 2
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: cable internet

  1. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    1

    Fire wall

    Just as another log on the fire, try Sygate.com Their fire wall is free as well as good.
    Share on Google+

  2. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    689

    Cool

    Originally posted by stflook
    I see.... This is the first I have heard of this. Well, one thing is for sure. I will never go recommending BlackICE again. You'd think a company that markets such a popular product would care about their customer. Then again, Microsoft. I think I'll edit that post now.
    Im not saying that blackice is a bad product, I just hope that they take responsibilty for a problem that they should fix for users who buy their product. It really tells you something when "FREE" software such as Tiny and ZoneAlarm can catch problems better than something that costs $39.99 at stores.
    Wine maketh merry: but money answereth all things.
    --Ecclesiastes 10:19
    Share on Google+

  3. #13
    IT Specialist Ghost_25inf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    648
    hey
    cant you just set your IP to expire like every 4 hours or so to get a new IP? that could help you out now unless they get ahold of your computer name or netbios name then there is no hideing unless you change that too.
    Share on Google+

  4. #14
    Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    590

    Lightbulb

    the code kiddies can also find your IP through file transfers say between ICQ/AIM
    or by using ICQ programs that display your IP
    Share on Google+

  5. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    107
    Sorry I didn't specify, I have a hardware modem, BEFSR41 -- EtherFast 4-Port Cable/DSL Router. I just got it a month a go and was wondering how safe it really is.
    Share on Google+

  6. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    185

    Re: FYI ip addresses are no secret

    There are few ways to get an IP of a machine. It is even easier if you know the hostname of that machine.

    -> email headers // often contain IP's
    -> nslookup `hostname' //Win & *nix
    -> tracert `hostname' // Win
    -> traceroute `hostname' //*nix
    -> icq // as the good man said
    -> irc // look into this if you are concerned
    -> online games //some games can dump a list of ip's from all connected players.

    There are a few others, but I think you get the point. IP addresses are no secret. You need appropriate countermeasures, a quality firewall properly configured is a good place to start.
    Know this..., you may not by thyself in pride claim the Mantle of Wizardry; that way lies only Bogosity without End.

    Rather must you Become, and Become, and Become, until Hackers respect thy Power, and other Wizards hail thee as a Brother or Sister in Wisdom, and you wake up and realize that the Mantle hath lain unknown upon thy Shoulders since you knew not when.

    Share on Google+

  7. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    752
    Originally posted by owen76
    Sorry I didn't specify, I have a hardware modem, BEFSR41 -- EtherFast 4-Port Cable/DSL Router. I just got it a month a go and was wondering how safe it really is.
    I have the BEFSR11, which is the 1 port version of that router. I personally like the firewall on it, but it has some limitations. I don't like that you only get 5 entries for filtered port ranges, and I don't like that only one computer can be in the DMZ at a time, but that's small potatoes. Besides that, I really like its firewall. I would still recommend a software firewall as well, though.
    Share on Google+

  8. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    752
    Originally posted by owen76
    Sorry I didn't specify, I have a hardware modem, BEFSR41 -- EtherFast 4-Port Cable/DSL Router. I just got it a month a go and was wondering how safe it really is.
    I have the BEFSR11, which is the 1 port version of that router (not modem). I personally like the firewall on it, but it has some limitations. I don't like that you only get 5 entries for filtered port ranges, and I don't like that only one computer can be in the DMZ at a time, but that's small potatoes. Besides that, I really like its firewall. I would still recommend a software firewall as well, though.


    Grrr.... I hate it when it posts twice like this. It won't let me delete one of them either.
    Share on Google+

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •