Thread: networking

networking

howdy,

the subject says "newbies ask your questions here" so here am I.

anyway, i'm 22, i'm a full time student at a tech school for computer networking. I'm getting really bored with the lame **** i've been doing for fun in class. we're running windows 2k, 10baseT network w/ NON switching hub (peice of ****), anyway, we're using netbeui for the class workgroup, and tcp/ip to connect to the internet via the hub that goes to a router from the server in the back, (DSL), anyway, i wanna know how i can get into the computers in the other class rooms through the hubs, routers, etc,

i'm pretty into this ****, so if any of you could at least give me a hint about some of this ****, i'd be very grateful.

thanx

-blitzkrieg

I'm tired, but I'll try...

I'm slightly confused about your details *possibly because I've been awake too long* but here goes....

NetBEUI isn't routable so even if the computer rooms are connected via the router there isn't a way for you to connect to a computer in the other room...

Here's your hint: If your using TCP/IP to connect to the internet, all of the computer must have IP addresses.
    -Matty_Cross
    \"Isn\'t sanity just a one trick pony anyway? I mean, all you get is one trick. Rational Thinking.
    But when you\'re good and crazy, hehe, the skies the limit!!\"

dude

hey,
    about the router thing....

dude, i know all the computers have IP addresses, i have everyone's memorized. and we don't use dhcp, so the IP's are always the same,

so.... knowing all these ip's, what can i do?

p.s.... can you tell me anything about any backdoors to win2k?

thanx!

-blitzkrieg