Ethernet Question
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Ethernet Question

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    32

    Ethernet Question

    hello i have an old computer at home and i wanna connect 1 computer to the other. I will be setting up the old computer to be a linux box. Now is there any advantage of having 1 computer attached to the other. Just wanna know if i really need one computer connected to the other

    thanks
    Share on Google+

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    472
    You can share files, printers, internet connnection. You can even have fun hacking into your own computer. And really, knowing how to set up a network is quite useful. So you even educate yourself! So go out and buy twisted pair!
    ---
    proactive
    Share on Google+

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    56
    You could also use the old one as a firewall
    Ignorance is a voluntary misfortune
    Share on Google+

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    32
    alright sounds good thanks guess i`ll buy the cable and ethernet cards
    Share on Google+

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    872

    Talking Hacking Yourself

    I remember calling my father over and telling him about my recent 'hacking exposure' and how I was testing my work on my own computer. He laughed so hard and gave me this example:

    "It's like a robber stealing from himself..."

    Well as a matter of fact it is. But hey...it got me to where I am now,...so i'm happy.
    Share on Google+

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    752
    Don't forget the hub/switch. You will be causing unnecessary headache if you do a direct cable connection.
    Share on Google+

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    872

    Talking Hacking Yourself

    I remember calling my father over and telling him about my recent 'hacking exposure' and how I was testing my work on my own computer. He laughed so hard and gave me this example:

    "It's like a robber stealing money from himself..."

    Well as a matter of fact it is. But hey...it got me to where I am now,...so i'm happy.
    ...This Space For Rent.

    -[WebCarnage]
    Share on Google+

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    472
    Originally posted by stflook
    Don't forget the hub/switch. You will be causing unnecessary headache if you do a direct cable connection.
    Yeah, or you'll need a crossed cable.
    ---
    proactive
    Share on Google+

  9. #9
    IT Specialist Ghost_25inf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    648
    I have an added question to the subject. I have two token rings one in my mew computer and one in my old one and a crossover cable attached to it , I said screw the hub. But the token rings by IBM arnt reconised by my older computer where can I get the correct drivers for it?
    Share on Google+

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    872

    Exclamation Whoa...

    Dude...I posted the same thing up twice...sorry about that mates.
    ...This Space For Rent.

    -[WebCarnage]
    Share on Google+

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •