Thread: FreeBSD PPP Dial-up Help

Post FreeBSD PPP Dial-up Help

I know this isn't a security issue, but I need help on this.

I have FreeBSD 4.3 and I am a newbie to it and *nix.
    I am having trouble getting it on the internet via dialup PPP connection to my ISP. I have edited my /etc/ppp/ppp.conf file to the best of my ability to enable me to connect, and this is what I have in it.

Questions I have and things I did to/about the ppp.conf file will be #commented

( indents may be wrong, because I am writing this just now by looking at my file because I have to use a different comp for internet and I can't transfer the file onto this computer) This file may have word wrapped strangely due tto the forum standards, but I am 95% sure I have the layout of the ppp.conf file correct

default:
    ident user-ppp VERSION (built COMPILATIONDATE)

set device /dev/cuaa0

set log Phase Chat LPC IPCP CCP tun command
    set speed 38400
    set dial "ABORT BUSY NO\\sCARRIER TIMEOUT 5 \
    \"\" AT OK-AT-OK ATE1Q0 OK \\dATDT\\T TIMEOUT 40 CONNECT"
    set ifaddr 10.0.0.1/0 10.0.0.2/0 255.255.255.255
    set timeout 180
    add default HISADDR
    enable dns #This tag means I don't need to set up the resolv.conf file

papchap:

set phone
    #I put my isp phone number here like this (I made up the following phone number 4657890) Do I need to set up area code and put dashes in there? It is a local number
    set authname
    #Here I put my login name to my isp. I put it just like this set authname raven
    set authkey
    # here I put my password.

Ok, and that is the end of the file. Now I enabled dns so I don't need the 2 ip adresses from my isp so I don't think the resolv.conf file is the problem.
    Also, when I use ppp mode what command would I use to connect to the isp? I couldn't find any good docs on it that explained it as freebsd 4.3 was set up.