Win2K local admin
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Win2K local admin

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    11

    Unhappy Win2K local admin

    Help! I recently tried to log into my pc under admin and got an error message stating that: "the local security policy won't allow me to log in locally" WTF? Is there a way to work around this? Perhaps log in as a normal user and upgrade my permissions? I'd like to do so instead of reloading Win2k and losing some files.
    @lm!ghty
    Share on Google+

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    831
    Can you give us some more information, in regards to the situation your in...
    Is the computer Networked? Is it part of an AD network?.. What is your normal user level?
    -Matty_Cross
    \"Isn\'t sanity just a one trick pony anyway? I mean, all you get is one trick. Rational Thinking.
    But when you\'re good and crazy, hehe, the skies the limit!!\"
    Share on Google+

  3. #3
    Fastest Thing Alive s0nIc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,584

    Question

    Are you sure it says you are not allowed to login "localy"? or it says due to local policies you are not allowed to login "interactively"...?
    Share on Google+

  4. #4
    Fastest Thing Alive s0nIc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,584

    Cool

    hmmm and by the way.. by default.. normal user cant change the policies.. unless your changed the rights of your normal user.. then u can.. if not.. only admins can change it..
    Share on Google+

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    831
    He could use runas to run the User Manager tool as an Admin.....
    I don't know if runas checks all your access permissions..
    -Matty_Cross
    \"Isn\'t sanity just a one trick pony anyway? I mean, all you get is one trick. Rational Thinking.
    But when you\'re good and crazy, hehe, the skies the limit!!\"
    Share on Google+

  6. #6
    Fastest Thing Alive s0nIc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,584

    Cool

    ok matty just gave me the idea..

    login as a normal user... go to Computer Management.. (HOLD the SHIFT key while doing this) then right-click and go to Run As.. and Run as Admin.. and then from there.. u can set the local policies.. Genius!! thanks MATTY! haha
    Share on Google+

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    11
    You're right the message I get states the following:

    it says due to local policies you are not allowed to login "interactively"...?

    I just tried your solution of holding down the SHIFT key and that didn't let me keep the changes that I had made when upgrading a normal users account to admin. Also, this pc i'm referring to is not on a network or AD
    @lm!ghty
    Share on Google+

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    831
    @lm!ghty, read this technet article ... it might contain a solution for you..

    Best of luck..
    -Matty_Cross
    \"Isn\'t sanity just a one trick pony anyway? I mean, all you get is one trick. Rational Thinking.
    But when you\'re good and crazy, hehe, the skies the limit!!\"
    Share on Google+

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    11

    Unhappy

    Thanks, after several hours of trying to figure this thing out I decided to do a clean install after retrieving the important data. Thanks for the technet solution now I know what I did wrong; silly me.
    @lm!ghty
    Share on Google+

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •