Linux is Still not more stable!!! - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 30

Thread: Linux is Still not more stable!!!

  1. #11
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    24

    Post

    UberCoder, it is hard to respect any knowledge you may have if you continue to look down on me as a clueless newbie. First of all dont insult anyone who decides to try something new and different. Second if my interest in linux isnt apparent enough, I spent a good week getting it installed, and then after the modem wouldnt work I ran out and bought a new one just so it would. Now if I posted saying "Windows keeps crashing so I'm giving up on windows" noone would think anything of it. My intention by posting is to not only find a solution to my problem and get this OS that I spent so much time on, to work right again, but also to warn new users linux is not free from problems and super stable like so many claim. I was sick of getting the same crap about my power supply when it wasnt the problem.

    As for my hardware(which I am 90% sure is not to blame) I use a 433 mhz intel celeron processor, 288mb Ram, 4.3 gig hard drive, ISA Linux compatible 56k modem, pci network interface card, integrated AGP video card, 40x cdrom, and 8x cd burner. The sound card is integrated into the board and it works fine. I also use a ATA66 pci hard drive controller card. After I finally got Mandrake 8.1 installed these problems arose.

    Dont go insulting me after all not many people even try linux, and even less have gone as far as I have. UberCoder:

    [root@mybox audioluv]# dmesg
    Linux version 2.4.8-26mdk (quintela@bi.mandrakesoft.com) (gcc version 2.96 20000731 (Mandrake Linux 8.1 2.96-0.62mdk)) #1 Sun Sep 23 17:06:39 CEST 2001
    BIOS-provided physical RAM map:
    BIOS-e820: 0000000000000000 - 000000000009fc00 (usable)
    BIOS-e820: 000000000009fc00 - 00000000000a0000 (reserved)
    BIOS-e820: 00000000000e0000 - 0000000000100000 (reserved)
    BIOS-e820: 0000000000100000 - 0000000012000000 (usable)
    BIOS-e820: 00000000fec00000 - 00000000fec01000 (reserved)
    BIOS-e820: 00000000fee00000 - 00000000fee01000 (reserved)
    BIOS-e820: 00000000fffc0000 - 0000000100000000 (reserved)
    On node 0 totalpages: 73728
    zone(0): 4096 pages.
    zone(1): 69632 pages.
    zone(2): 0 pages.
    Kernel command line: initrd=initrd.img root=/dev/hda1 hdh=ide-scsi devfs=mount BOOT_IMAGE=vmlinuz
    ide_setup: hdh=ide-scsi
    Initializing CPU#0
    Detected 434.324 MHz processor.
    Console: colour VGA+ 80x25
    Calibrating delay loop... 865.07 BogoMIPS
    Memory: 287068k/294912k available (1086k kernel code, 7456k reserved, 397k data, 712k init, 0k highmem)
    Dentry-cache hash table entries: 65536 (order: 7, 524288 bytes)
    Inode-cache hash table entries: 32768 (order: 6, 262144 bytes)
    Mount-cache hash table entries: 8192 (order: 4, 65536 bytes)
    Buffer-cache hash table entries: 16384 (order: 4, 65536 bytes)
    Page-cache hash table entries: 131072 (order: 7, 524288 bytes)
    CPU: Before vendor init, caps: 0183fbff 00000000 00000000, vendor = 0
    CPU: L1 I cache: 16K, L1 D cache: 16K
    CPU: L2 cache: 128K
    Intel machine check architecture supported.
    Intel machine check reporting enabled on CPU#0.
    CPU: After vendor init, caps: 0183fbff 00000000 00000000 00000000
    CPU: After generic, caps: 0183fbff 00000000 00000000 00000000
    CPU: Common caps: 0183fbff 00000000 00000000 00000000
    CPU: Intel Celeron (Mendocino) stepping 05
    Enabling fast FPU save and restore... done.
    Checking 'hlt' instruction... OK.
    POSIX conformance testing by UNIFIX
    mtrr: v1.40 (20010327) Richard Gooch (rgooch@atnf.csiro.au)
    mtrr: detected mtrr type: Intel
    PCI: PCI BIOS revision 2.10 entry at 0xfdba1, last bus=1
    PCI: Using configuration type 1
    PCI: Probing PCI hardware
    PCI: Using IRQ router PIIX [8086/7110] at 00:07.0
    Limiting direct PCI/PCI transfers.
    isapnp: Scanning for PnP cards...
    isapnp: No Plug & Play device found
    PnP: PNP BIOS installation structure at 0xc00f76a0
    PnP: PNP BIOS version 1.0, entry at f0000:6c04, dseg at f0000
    PnPBIOS: PNP0c02: request 0x400-0x440 ok
    PnPBIOS: PNP0c02: request 0x440-0x450 ok
    PnPBIOS: PNP0c02: request 0x4d0-0x4d2 ok
    PnPBIOS: PNP0c02: request 0xcf8-0xd00
    PnPBIOS: PNP0c02: request 0x295-0x297 ok
    PnP: 14 devices detected total
    Linux NET4.0 for Linux 2.4
    Based upon Swansea University Computer Society NET3.039
    Initializing RT netlink socket
    apm: BIOS version 1.2 Flags 0x03 (Driver version 1.14)
    Starting kswapd v1.8
    VFS: Diskquotas version dquot_6.5.0 initialized
    devfs: v0.115 (20010827) Richard Gooch (rgooch@atnf.csiro.au)
    devfs: boot_options: 0x1
    pty: 256 Unix98 ptys configured
    Serial driver version 5.05c (2001-07-08) with HUB-6 MANY_PORTS MULTIPORT SHARE_IRQ SERIAL_PCI ISAPNP enabled
    ttyS00 at 0x03f8 (irq = 4) is a 16550A
    ttyS01 at 0x02f8 (irq = 3) is a 16550A
    block: queued sectors max/low 190117kB/63372kB, 576 slots per queue
    RAMDISK driver initialized: 16 RAM disks of 4096K size 1024 blocksize
    Uniform Multi-Platform E-IDE driver Revision: 6.31
    ide: Assuming 33MHz system bus speed for PIO modes; override with idebus=xx
    PIIX4: IDE controller on PCI bus 00 dev 39
    PIIX4: chipset revision 1
    PIIX4: not 100% native mode: will probe irqs later
    ide0: BM-DMA at 0xffa0-0xffa7, BIOS settings: hda:pio, hdb:pio
    ide1: BM-DMA at 0xffa8-0xffaf, BIOS settings: hdc:DMA, hdd:pio
    HPT366: IDE controller on PCI bus 00 dev 90
    PCI: Found IRQ 11 for device 00:12.0
    PCI: Sharing IRQ 11 with 00:12.1
    HPT366: chipset revision 1
    HPT366: not 100% native mode: will probe irqs later
    ide2: BM-DMA at 0xe000-0xe007, BIOS settings: hde:pio, hdf:pio
    HPT366: IDE controller on PCI bus 00 dev 91
    PCI: Found IRQ 11 for device 00:12.1
    PCI: Sharing IRQ 11 with 00:12.0
    HPT366: chipset revision 1
    HPT366: not 100% native mode: will probe irqs later
    ide3: BM-DMA at 0xe800-0xe807, BIOS settings: hdg:pio, hdh:pio
    hd1: C/H/S=0/0/0 from BIOS ignored
    hda: SAMSUNG SV0432D, ATA DISK drive
    hdc: SAMSUNG CD-ROM SC-140, ATAPI CD/DVD-ROM drive
    hdh: PCRW804, ATAPI CD/DVD-ROM drive
    ide0 at 0x1f0-0x1f7,0x3f6 on irq 14
    ide1 at 0x170-0x177,0x376 on irq 15
    ide3 at 0xeff0-0xeff7,0xefe6 on irq 11
    hda: 8421840 sectors (4312 MB) w/480KiB Cache, CHS=8912/15/63, UDMA(33)
    hdc: ATAPI 40X CD-ROM drive, 128kB Cache, DMA
    Uniform CD-ROM driver Revision: 3.12
    ide-floppy driver 0.97
    Partition check:
    /dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0: [PTBL] [524/255/63] p1 p2 < p5 p6 >
    Floppy drive(s): fd0 is 1.44M
    FDC 0 is a post-1991 82077
    ide-floppy driver 0.97
    md: md driver 0.90.0 MAX_MD_DEVS=256, MD_SB_DISKS=27
    md: Autodetecting RAID arrays.
    md: autorun ...
    md: ... autorun DONE.
    NET4: Linux TCP/IP 1.0 for NET4.0
    IP Protocols: ICMP, UDP, TCP, IGMP
    IP: routing cache hash table of 2048 buckets, 16Kbytes
    TCP: Hash tables configured (established 32768 bind 32768)
    Linux IP multicast router 0.06 plus PIM-SM
    NET4: Unix domain sockets 1.0/SMP for Linux NET4.0.
    RAMDISK: Compressed image found at block 0
    Uncompressing...done.
    Freeing initrd memory: 32k freed
    VFS: Mounted root (ext2 filesystem).
    Mounted devfs on /dev
    8139too Fast Ethernet driver 0.9.18a
    PCI: Found IRQ 10 for device 00:13.0
    eth0: RealTek RTL8139 Fast Ethernet at 0xd2807f00, 00:c0:26:63:4d:54, IRQ 10
    eth0: Identified 8139 chip type 'RTL-8139C'
    Freeing unused kernel memory: 712k freed
    Real Time Clock Driver v1.10d
    Adding Swap: 248968k swap-space (priority -1)
    SCSI subsystem driver Revision: 1.00
    scsi0 : SCSI host adapter emulation for IDE ATAPI devices
    Vendor: PHILIPS Model: PCRW804 Rev: 2,1
    Type: CD-ROM ANSI SCSI revision: 02
    EXT2-fs warning: mounting unchecked fs, running e2fsck is recommended
    usb.c: registered new driver usbdevfs
    usb.c: registered new driver hub
    usb-uhci.c: $Revision: 1.259 $ time 17:30:17 Sep 23 2001
    usb-uhci.c: High bandwidth mode enabled
    PCI: Found IRQ 9 for device 00:07.2
    PCI: Sharing IRQ 9 with 00:0b.0
    usb-uhci.c: USB UHCI at I/O 0xef80, IRQ 9
    usb-uhci.c: Detected 2 ports
    usb.c: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 1
    hub.c: USB hub found
    hub.c: 2 ports detected
    usb-uhci.c: v1.251:USB Universal Host Controller Interface driver
    ip_tables: (c)2000 Netfilter core team
    ip_conntrack (2304 buckets, 18432 max)
    PnPBIOS: Parport found PNPBIOS PNP0400 at io=0378,0000 irq=7 dma=-1
    parport0: PC-style at 0x378, irq 7 [PCSPP,TRISTATE]
    parport0: cpp_daisy: aa5500ff(38)
    parport0: assign_addrs: aa5500ff(38)
    parport0: cpp_daisy: aa5500ff(38)
    parport0: assign_addrs: aa5500ff(38)
    IPVS: Connection hash table configured (size=4096, memory=32Kbytes)
    IPVS: ipvs loaded.
    eth0: Setting half-duplex based on auto-negotiated partner ability 0000.
    task `ip' exit_signal 17 in reparent_to_init
    Installing knfsd (copyright (C) 1996 okir@monad.swb.de).
    PCI: Found IRQ 9 for device 00:0b.0
    PCI: Sharing IRQ 9 with 00:07.2
    Crystal 4280/46xx + AC97 Audio, version 1.28.32, 17:27:37 Sep 23 2001
    cs46xx: Card found at 0xfebef000 and 0xfea00000, IRQ 9
    cs46xx: Card without SSID set (0000:0000) at 0xfebef000/0xfea00000, IRQ 9
    ac97_codec: AC97 Audio codec, id: 0x4352:0x5913 (Cirrus Logic CS4297A rev A)
    CSLIP: code copyright 1989 Regents of the University of California
    PPP generic driver version 2.4.1
    PPP BSD Compression module registered
    PPP Deflate Compression module registered
    auditIN=ppp0 OUT= MAC= SRC=65.100.137.196 DST=65.165.53.31 LEN=60 TOS=0x00 PREC=0x00 TTL=51 ID=46744 DF PROTO=TCP SPT=2687 DPT=111 WINDOW=32120 RES=0x00 SYN URGP=0
    Share on Google+

  2. #12
    Just a Virtualized Geek MrLinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Posts
    7,324
    Audioluv,

    Thanks for all the info on your machine. Could you however put the make and model of the nic, modem and video? Video in particular can be buggy especially on-board video. There is one that I've had experience with in the past that can do anything from freeze an install to make your GUI interface look funky.
    Goodbye, Mittens (1992-2008). My pillow will be cold without your purring beside my head
    Extra! Extra! Get your FREE copy of Insight Newsletter||MsMittens' HomePage
    Share on Google+

  3. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    185
    Ok audioluv, I can work with this :D

    I am focusing on two things in dmseg that catch my attention here. First is that you mention that you have an ATA66 controller card, and second that the kernel is using devfs, which is Ok, but if we don't get a resolution with HDD settings, we may want to look at devfs.

    <snip> # this is what I am looking at in dmesg and why I am suggesting the solution below.

    ide: Assuming 33MHz system bus speed for PIO modes; override with idebus=xx
    PIIX4: IDE controller on PCI bus 00 dev 39
    PIIX4: chipset revision 1
    PIIX4: not 100% native mode: will probe irqs later
    ide0: BM-DMA at 0xffa0-0xffa7, BIOS settings: hda:pio, hdb:pio
    ide1: BM-DMA at 0xffa8-0xffaf, BIOS settings: hdc:DMA, hdd:pio
    HPT366: IDE controller on PCI bus 00 dev 90
    PCI: Found IRQ 11 for device 00:12.0
    PCI: Sharing IRQ 11 with 00:12.1
    HPT366: chipset revision 1
    HPT366: not 100% native mode: will probe irqs later
    ide2: BM-DMA at 0xe000-0xe007, BIOS settings: hde:pio, hdf:pio
    HPT366: IDE controller on PCI bus 00 dev 91
    PCI: Found IRQ 11 for device 00:12.1
    PCI: Sharing IRQ 11 with 00:12.0
    HPT366: chipset revision 1
    HPT366: not 100% native mode: will probe irqs later
    ide3: BM-DMA at 0xe800-0xe807, BIOS settings: hdg:pio, hdh:pio
    hd1: C/H/S=0/0/0 from BIOS ignored
    hda: SAMSUNG SV0432D, ATA DISK drive
    hdc: SAMSUNG CD-ROM SC-140, ATAPI CD/DVD-ROM drive
    hdh: PCRW804, ATAPI CD/DVD-ROM drive
    ide0 at 0x1f0-0x1f7,0x3f6 on irq 14
    ide1 at 0x170-0x177,0x376 on irq 15
    ide3 at 0xeff0-0xeff7,0xefe6 on irq 11
    hda: 8421840 sectors (4312 MB) w/480KiB Cache, CHS=8912/15/63, UDMA(33)
    hdc: ATAPI 40X CD-ROM drive, 128kB Cache, DMA
    Uniform CD-ROM driver Revision: 3.12
    ide-floppy driver 0.97
    Partition check:
    /dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0: [PTBL] [524/255/63] p1 p2 < p5 p6 >

    Let's start with your HDD configuration. We could probably improve on what we have going on here. Using the `hdparm' command, here is a suggestion that may (hopefully) resolve your problem.

    From `dmesg' I can see that you have one HDD and it is named hda ( the default first hdd device name). It is currently running in UDMA 33 and we have some room for improvement there.

    Open a teminal emulator and su to root. Now, we want to get some info about your hard drive, so using the hdparm command with the -I option...

    example:
    [root@yourbox:~]# hdparm -I /dev/hda

    The output will look something like this.

    /dev/hda:

    Model=CI530L04VARE700- , FwRev=REO44AA4, SerialNo= S PXXTT07329
    Config={ HardSect NotMFM HdSw>15uSec Fixed DTR>10Mbs }
    RawCHS=16383/16/63, TrkSize=0, SectSize=0, ECCbytes=40
    BuffType=DualPortCache, BuffSize=1916kB, MaxMultSect=16, MultSect=16
    CurCHS=16383/16/63, CurSects=-66060037, LBA=yes, LBAsects=80418240
    IORDY=on/off, tPIO={min:240,w/IORDY:120}, tDMA={min:120,rec:120}
    PIO modes: pio0 pio1 pio2 pio3 pio4
    DMA modes: mdma0 mdma1 *mdma2 udma0 udma1 udma2 udma3 udma4 udma5
    AdvancedPM=yes: disabled (255)
    Drive Supports : ATA/ATAPI-5 T13 1321D revision 1 : ATA-2 ATA-3 ATA-4 ATA-5

    Next, go ahead and see what your HDD speed is currently.

    Example:

    [root@yourbox: ~]# hdparm -t /dev/hda

    example output:

    Timing buffered disk reads: 64 MB in 5.85 seconds = 11.2 MB/sec



    Your HDD is currently running in 16 bit and unmask is 0 (off) so we want to optimize these to what they should be.

    [root@yourbox: ~]# hdparm -c3 -m16 /dev/hda

    Now run `hdparm -t /dev/hda' again see what it says, any improvement?

    Lets enable DMA, and DMA2

    [root@yourbox: ~]# hdparm -d1 -X34 /dev/hda

    Now we want to set the unmask bit to "on"

    [root@yourbox: ~]# hdparm -u1 /dev/hda

    Computer still running? :D Ok, now we just need to read the output of `hdparm -I /dev/hda' on the line "PIO Modes:" and see what the highest PIO mode is that we can set to. In my example above it was pio4, my guess is that yours will be pio3, but check it to make sure.

    Using pio3 as an example, we need to set the pio mode on the drive.

    [root@yourbox: ~]# hdparm -p3 /dev/hda

    These settings will not be around the next time you boot, so we need to put them in a place that initd will find and set them for us on every boot. We are going to add a line to rc.local to accomplish this.

    so....

    [root@yourbox: ~]# cd /etc/rc.d && vi rc.local

    We add the following line to whatever is in this file.

    hdparm -c3 -m16 -d1 -X34 -u1 -p3 /dev/hda


    Then save and exit and you are all done.


    I hope this helps you out, if it does not, I am happy to keep helping you, just let me know a few more details about what is happening, what you are doing at the time etc.

    And hopefully.. after we get your Linux install working the way it *should be* you will have a lot of fun with it and learn some nifty stuff. :D

    Happy New Year everyone!!!!
    Know this..., you may not by thyself in pride claim the Mantle of Wizardry; that way lies only Bogosity without End.

    Rather must you Become, and Become, and Become, until Hackers respect thy Power, and other Wizards hail thee as a Brother or Sister in Wisdom, and you wake up and realize that the Mantle hath lain unknown upon thy Shoulders since you knew not when.

    Share on Google+

  4. #14
    PHP/PostgreSQL guy
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    1,164

    Re: Linux is Still not more stable!!!

    Originally posted by audioluv
    So after all my linux troubles and you guys saying that there was no way in hell linux was messing up, I found that it cant possibly be my power supply. I gave up linux for the time being, and switched back to windows. Guess what, no crashing no failing for 8 days straight without turning the machine off. If my power supply is messed up then why does it work fine with windows? When I have linux on for more than a couple of hours it just freezes, or the modem just stops working. The power switch doesnt work, and I have to unplug the computer to reboot. For the last time linux is not more stable!!!
    *read through the post stating to not be insulted by UberC0Der*

    Audioluv,

    UberC0der is not entirely off the mark. I myself would be glad to help you out but do you know how many people sit there and say Linux is not more stable all because of the whatever reason? This is the second post that you've stated where linux is not more stable and no doubt, it's because of something simple. That's 90% of the problems with computers. And yet you're willing to go back to windows, which will crash inevitably and a whole lot more than linux will. Where's the "I want to learn and do better" attitude in that? And then consider yourself insulted by UberC0der when he states in specific terms what he's willing to do. This support is free and by far a lot more than you'll *ever* get from MS "tech" support. *nix hackers are not a social group yet are willing to help fix a problem. Know that now.

    Anyways, on to your problem. I'm guessing that if your modem stops working (and out of *50* modems, only *1* was compatible? I think there's just a few more compatible than that), or if your system totally locks up, it's going to be hardware bound. If the PS is not the problem then it's going to be something else.
    How is your BIOS configured? Is "PNP OS" set to yes or no? It should be no. That right there has gotten a few people. How your HD is set up also affects a lot of things, as UberC0der has stated.

    Overall, my post is just to let you know that we get a lot of complaints from linux users who're new to the scene and aren't willing to fix the problem because it's a CLI issue and they're blatantly afraid of it. Once you get comfortable with the CLI, you'll never worry again. Trust me on that one. Also, feel free to PM me with any problems you might have and I'll try to help out. We *are* here to help and yes, linux *is* better than what you've encountered so far. We'll get there.

    BTW, have you seen LOTR? That movie ROCKED!

    :: pets the CLI :: my preciouuuuuusssss....
    We the willing, led by the unknowing, have been doing the impossible for the ungrateful. We have done so much with so little for so long that we are now qualified to do just about anything with almost nothing.
    Share on Google+

  5. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    185
    geeeeez, sheeeesh! Absolutely right Vorlin!

    It's the little things that you forget to tell people.

    audioluv, check that the BIOS is *not* set to PNP = `yes' or `on' as Vorlin said before you do the above.

    if it is `no' or `off', go ahead and proceed and let us know how you are doing.
    Know this..., you may not by thyself in pride claim the Mantle of Wizardry; that way lies only Bogosity without End.

    Rather must you Become, and Become, and Become, until Hackers respect thy Power, and other Wizards hail thee as a Brother or Sister in Wisdom, and you wake up and realize that the Mantle hath lain unknown upon thy Shoulders since you knew not when.

    Share on Google+

  6. #16
    PHP/PostgreSQL guy
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    1,164
    Hehe, that was one of those "Hey, let's put this to yes because Windows is PNP right?" situations that ended up screwing me over... You learn something new every day ...

    Happy new year to everyone!
    We the willing, led by the unknowing, have been doing the impossible for the ungrateful. We have done so much with so little for so long that we are now qualified to do just about anything with almost nothing.
    Share on Google+

  7. #17
    AO Curmudgeon rcgreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    2,716

    Thumbs up

    Yeah. LINUX isn't more stable.
    On my first linux system, I started
    this lame program called EMACS,
    Idon't know what it does.
    I couldn't get out of emacs (no menus)
    so I hit the power button.
    After that, LINUX wouldn't
    boot!
    I came in to the world with nothing. I still have most of it.
    Share on Google+

  8. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    185
    I started
    this lame program called EMACS,
    Idon't know what it does.
    I couldn't get out of emacs (no menus)
    so I hit the power button.
    After that, LINUX wouldn't
    boot!
    Yet another case of RTFM.

    Had you RTFM, you would have known how to operate all of the menu's, and you would have known how to exit the program, and you would have known that EMACS comes with a built in tutorial. And you would have known that just killing the power is a very bad idea, but then... you should have already known that.

    If EMACS is so lame why does about half of the software in the Unix world get written in EMACS?
    Coincidently the other half (speaking in approximate terms here) is written in vi, for which there is also a manual.

    hmmm... that would lead me to believe that it is NOT lame.

    In the future try `man command-name', that will save you a lot of frustration.
    Know this..., you may not by thyself in pride claim the Mantle of Wizardry; that way lies only Bogosity without End.

    Rather must you Become, and Become, and Become, until Hackers respect thy Power, and other Wizards hail thee as a Brother or Sister in Wisdom, and you wake up and realize that the Mantle hath lain unknown upon thy Shoulders since you knew not when.

    Share on Google+

  9. #19
    AO Curmudgeon rcgreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    2,716

    Thumbs up

    ED is the default unix editor.
    I came in to the world with nothing. I still have most of it.
    Share on Google+

  10. #20
    Linux is not more stable, Well so far it hasn't crashed and it beats my windows box.
    Share on Google+

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides