Port 139 (again) - Page 3
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 27 of 27

Thread: Port 139 (again)

  1. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    267

    Mail filter

    Zone Alarm doesn't filter email, but it does 'quarantine' attachments.

    Isn't that what an Anti Virus is for ? To scan emails and attachments after they pass the firewall.

    Excuse my thought process, but I seperate 'hacks/intrusions' from
    'virus/worms'.

    Consequently I run both firewall(s) and Anti Virus.
    Share on Google+

  2. #22
    Senior since the 3 dot era
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    1,540
    Originally posted by protocool
    the very best thing i did is to setup another computer which will be your firewall a little tweaking is needed. this computer will act as a sub-server of the proxy server. acts like a net on anything. email on how it is done protocool@antionline.org
    I'am using the same setup right now... like many others here.

    I think it's a very good way to go, especially when you use a linux box to perform the firewall task
    Share on Google+

  3. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    485
    I think this is about how secure you want your system to be. The most secure solution is to run a seperate PC as a hardware firewall (which is what most commercial organisations do).

    However, if you are running a software firewall (ZoneAlarm, Tiny, whatever), together with an up to date virus scanner, this is extremely difficult to breach, as long as it is used correctly i.e. don't open attachments (save them instead, and let your AV scanner evaluate them), don't use the preview pane in Outlook etc.

    For example, it is almost impossible to hack IE, because something like ZoneAlarm will recognise the change.
    And the second line of defence is your AV scanner (together with a routine scan for trojans), which should pick up any changes.
    Share on Google+

  4. #24
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    31
    I have zonealarm, its pretty nice.

    I dont think SyGate is a firewall though. I use it to link my two computers to share the same cable connection, with one being the server, ( its the one with the connectioin). I could be wrong though //shrug//

    :
    Share on Google+

  5. #25
    Senior since the 3 dot era
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    1,540
    What you mean is the Sygate Home Network, which is a software router to split an internet connection.
    You can config this software to do a NAT for you, so the computers in your LAN are not visible from the internet side and I believe the packet also provides statefull packet inspection...
    That's for Sygate Home Network

    What I mean with *Sygate* is the Sygate personal Firewall which is free available from their website.
    Share on Google+

  6. #26
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    31
    ok, that makes a bit more sense lol.

    Share on Google+

  7. #27
    Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    263

    Unhappy

    actualy, this works on the LAN atleast, all someone needs to do is to use IE to access all your shares. \\IP.Address.goes.here\ put that in your address box gives you an idiots view of all the shares and then you just navigate like its a local directory
    Share on Google+

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •