Getting through a firewall
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Getting through a firewall

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    1

    Question Getting through a firewall

    I met a man that told me it is possible to open ports on a remote computer if you can ping the computer. Well ... I need a port open and I can ping the computer but he never told me how to open or route ports. If someone out there can give me directions, I would be very appreciative. Thanks.
    Share on Google+

  2. #2
    Old-Fogey:Addicts founder Terr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    2,007

    Re: Getting through a firewall

    Originally posted by NeoTekAngeL
    I met a man that told me it is possible to open ports on a remote computer if you can ping the computer. Well ... I need a port open and I can ping the computer but he never told me how to open or route ports. If someone out there can give me directions, I would be very appreciative. Thanks.
    Uhm... I think he didn't know what he was talking about. Generally, in order to open a port on a computer, you have to run a program on that computer that opens and uses the port. If you can't run programs on the remote computer... You can't open a port.

    Bottom line, I think he was wrong, you need a LOT more than just a ping-able computer.

    And the port has to interface with the system somehow, a simple port with nobody listening on the other end won't do any good, it's like a door that opens into midair, just making the door doesn't help. You can go through it, but it isn't useful.
    [HvC]Terr: L33T Technical Proficiency
    Share on Google+

  3. #3
    Priapistic Monk KorpDeath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    2,628

    Exclamation

    Yep. I wouldn't listen to that man for anything important. I have pingable computers that you can't get into.
    Mankind have a great aversion to intellectual labor; but even supposing knowledge to be easily attainable, more people would be content to be ignorant than would take even a little trouble to acquire it.
    - Samuel Johnson
    Share on Google+

  4. #4
    AntiOnline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    514
    As has been said before - I don't think that man knew what he was talking about.
    [shadow]uraloony, Founder of Loony Services[/shadow]
    Visit us at
    [gloworange]http://www.loonyservices.com/[/gloworange]
    Share on Google+

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    68
    Ping uses ICMP which by its nature is insecure but if a router or firewall is set to accept a certain amount of pings its considered secure there is alot more to cracking a system than pinging ,A bit of personal advice this guy you speak of might be an excellent technician but not know much about security the best way to learn security is tutorials or books and playing with systems your self .Before i learned security i was told by a good pc analyst that unix was an unbreakable os ,I soon learned that was a Lie


    Peace EviL
    Ee
    Share on Google+

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    218
    If you are able to ping a node, and receive a response, then all that means is that you and the other node are both on a network or "online" and are able to communicate with each other. Ping has nothing to do with opening ports. And just out of curiousity, which port do you need open and why?
    \"Computer games don\'t affect kids; I mean if Pac-Man affected us as kids, we\'d all be running around in darkened rooms munching magic pills and listening to repetitive electronic music.\" Kristian Wilson, Nintendo, Inc. 1989
    Share on Google+

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides