Thread: NT 4.0 Passwords?

Question NT 4.0 Passwords?

Hy,
    I'm a sysadmin at a school in switzerland.
    Now, my problem is: one of the students has probably got Administrator-rights on the system. We are running NT 4.0 with SP 5 installed.

The student has been excluded from the PC-room. I'm only wondering how could he get my password? He probably got a copy of the SAM._ database, but how?

I need this info to avoid further penetrations.
    Could you help me please?

You say a student 'probably' obtained Admin rights, why do you think this? ie: what made you assume that they has Admin rights?

You say your running NT with Service pack 5, why not Service pack 6a and also what patch's have been applied to these machines (if any)? <-- note this is a big opportunity for problems if not completed.

If the machines bios isn't secured (and / or the 1st boot device is floppy) then access would have been easy, booting a linux floppy with NTFS utils would allow them to reset the Admin password or to copy the SAM for later use.

Please provide more info and I'm sure we'll help.

J.

I suggest ..in addition to what has been sugested already that you reset ALL passwords on the machine. He could have used the erd for the machine and reset it to a prior password..then put it a backdoor admin account and changed it back. Or he could have run lophtcrack on the sam on the erd. He could also have used one of these tools here:

http://www.winternals.com/products/r.../ntrecover.asp

go thru all users accounts and reset the passwords. Then install some form of boot protection and prevent physical access.

A man on a mission?

You need a plan, man!