need some advice
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: need some advice

  1. #1
    Member D.J.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    SC
    Posts
    62

    Question need some advice

    i am at school right now and the computer i am at has smartfilter on it. when i tried clicking on some links, or going to such places as 2600.com, it will block me out with the 'criminal skills' message. i can't access the preferences page. how can i get around this? this pisses me off because i can't look up simple security sites in some cases ( either because of meta or name).
    Share on Google+

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    429
    try www.google.com and use the cached page feature.



    J.
    Share on Google+

  3. #3
    I'd rather be fishing DjM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    The Great White North
    Posts
    1,867
    You can try a Google search for the various sites you want and then view the 'Cached' pages on Google.

    DjM
    Share on Google+

  4. #4
    AO Curmudgeon rcgreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    2,716

    Thumbs up

    Don't you have a computer at home?
    I came in to the world with nothing. I still have most of it.
    Share on Google+

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    1

    Thumbs down

    It's unlikely you'll get round this one.
    The smartsniffer will be either locked down on that PC or
    if running on a network you will not granted write/update permissions for the configuration files or
    if being hosted externally (by your ISP) it will be beyond your reach.

    Easiest way is use a PC at home where no restrictions apply.

    Life is deliberately made difficult for those trying to do non-academic studies in schools, etc.
    Share on Google+

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    429

    Wink

    as a matter of fact it did work (I recieved a msg to that effect)
    I agree that the best solution is to have your own internet connection but with tricks like the google cache, it makes it easier to bypass some blocks.

    J.
    Share on Google+

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    458
    hmmm...very interesting thought. Since web filters are typically category or URL based, this concept does make sense. I am going to have to try it myself

    Thanks guys.
    Share on Google+

  8. #8
    I'd rather be fishing DjM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    The Great White North
    Posts
    1,867
    Originally posted by iNViCTuS
    hmmm...very interesting thought. Since web filters are typically category or URL based, this concept does make sense. I am going to have to try it myself

    Thanks guys.
    Typically they are URL based, what makes this work is the URL being checked by the filter is Google's site rather the the original site. (eg www.2600.com)

    Share on Google+

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    420
    Sometimes it as easy as turning off the proxy (tools/internet options/Connection/Lan Settings). . . This works in my office.
    Share on Google+

  10. #10
    oblio
    Guest
    Many of these filter softwares, do so by filtering the name and not the ip address due to the fact that for redundancy reasons, some servers can switch ip addresses. Simply within an msdos prompt, type nslookup 2600.com. A heading saying the domain entered and its respective address will appear. Take the numeric address and enter that as your url.
    Share on Google+

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •