Want an activation code for WinXP?
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Want an activation code for WinXP?

  1. #1
    Priapistic Monk KorpDeath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    2,628

    Want an activation code for WinXP?

    See this article.. evidently some smart cracker out there got the info M$ uses to generate your activation code and all but posted the information on the internet..

    http://www.vnunet.com/Analysis/1126488

    M$ is dedicated to security alright.
    Mankind have a great aversion to intellectual labor; but even supposing knowledge to be easily attainable, more people would be content to be ignorant than would take even a little trouble to acquire it.
    - Samuel Johnson
    Share on Google+

  2. #2
    Priapistic Monk KorpDeath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    2,628
    I think this deserves more attention than it's getting.

    Sorry if think it doesn't.
    Mankind have a great aversion to intellectual labor; but even supposing knowledge to be easily attainable, more people would be content to be ignorant than would take even a little trouble to acquire it.
    - Samuel Johnson
    Share on Google+

  3. #3
    Top Gun Maverick811's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    852
    Originally posted by KorpDeath
    I think this deserves more attention than it's getting.

    Sorry if think it doesn't.
    Agreed - of course, most of us were probably assuming that someone would be able to eventually break Microsoft's new activation scheme, it was just a matter of time. It will be nice to know what exactly inside your machine Microsoft is looking at. I've got to check this out in more detail when I get a little more time.

    But what gets me is that Microsoft can't fix a buffer overflow, the focus of the first part of the article. As many problems that have arisen because of buffer overflows, yet time after time, that exploit keeps popping up. I know buffer overflows have been discussed in some detail here before so we won't get into now - maybe Microsoft was waiting till February to start their new found focus on security.
    - Maverick
    Share on Google+

  4. #4
    Priapistic Monk KorpDeath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    2,628
    Originally posted by Maverick811


    Agreed - of course, most of us were probably assuming that someone would be able to eventually break Microsoft's new activation scheme, it was just a matter of time. It will be nice to know what exactly inside your machine Microsoft is looking at. I've got to check this out in more detail when I get a little more time.

    But what gets me is that Microsoft can't fix a buffer overflow, the focus of the first part of the article. As many problems that have arisen because of buffer overflows, yet time after time, that exploit keeps popping up. I know buffer overflows have been discussed in some detail here before so we won't get into now - maybe Microsoft was waiting till February to start their new found focus on security.

    Microsoft employs weak coders. On the whole they are lazy and uninspired.

    But there are, what, 20,000 of them. So the more the merrier...............
    Mankind have a great aversion to intellectual labor; but even supposing knowledge to be easily attainable, more people would be content to be ignorant than would take even a little trouble to acquire it.
    - Samuel Johnson
    Share on Google+

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    319
    Originally posted by Maverick811


    But what gets me is that Microsoft can't fix a buffer overflow, the focus of the first part of the article. As many problems that have arisen because of buffer overflows, yet time after time, that exploit keeps popping up. I know buffer overflows have been discussed in some detail here before so we won't get into now - maybe Microsoft was waiting till February to start their new found focus on security.
    Sadly enough, buffer overflows are also a major problem in Linux. You'd think that by now they'd have patched all those up.
    Share on Google+

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    243
    sorry if this a n00b question but do you know where I can find the KeyGen at? Right now I do have XP Pro but would like to load it on multiple computers, any links would be helpful. I did read the article though... obviously it's not there.
    Search First Ask Second. www.google.com
    Share on Google+

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    3
    ArmyOfOne, your kidding right ??

    "Did you know that by replacing 11 files on a retail Windows XP CD for an existing corporate edition CD, you can turn it into an unactivated corporate version? This has been tested and it does successfully work! It is important to note that this does NOT hack Windows XP in any way, it merely bypasses WPA. You do, however, need a valid 25-character PLK. It will be interesting to see if Microsoft fixes this loophole in the first service pack release. I have not monitored my traffic logs through our checkpoint firewall to see what was communicated yet... I really am surprised Microsoft would leave such an obvious and easily exploitable method to get around WPA. The files you need to replace are:

    i386\dpcdll.dl_
    i386\eula.txt *** cosmetic only
    i386\nt5inf.ca_
    i386\oembios.bi_
    i386\oembios.ca_
    i386\oembios.da_
    i386\oembios.si_
    i386\pidgen.dll
    i386\setupp.ini
    i386\setupreg.hiv
    i386\win9xupg\win95upg.inf
    End quote.
    LEGAL NOTICE - This is what my lawyers made me say [grin]. Do not try this at home, and do not violate any existing license agreements you have with any of your software vendors.
    *** Lamer (~SomePunk@AOL.com) has joined #visualbasic

    [10:24] <Lamer> How do i [Your obvious/lame question]?
    [10:25] <@oper> RTFM bi__h

    *** Lamer was kicked by @oper (f__kwit)
    [10:27] <VBg0d> i made a irc client!!!!!!
    *** assmaster83 (~dubya@oval.whitehouse.gov) invites you to join #animalsex
    [10:27] <Guest50468> VBg0d, c00l, i made a webbrowser!!
    Share on Google+

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    243
    you say I need to replace those files... but with what?
    Search First Ask Second. www.google.com
    Share on Google+

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    2
    Originally posted by ArmyOfOne
    you say I need to replace those files... but with what?
    http://ditoa.freeshell.org/winxp/index.htm
    Share on Google+

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •