Rh 7.2
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Rh 7.2

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    319

    Question Rh 7.2

    I recently d/led RH 7.2 and burned it to a couple CD's. I checked to make sure that all the files were there and that none were corrupted. When I went to install (using a bootdisk), it wouldn't recognize the CD as a RH install CD when I put it in. Anyone have any ideas?
    Share on Google+

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    429
    check the checksums of the downloaded iso's (assuming they are as iso's)
    if the files are OK, you can mount them unde windows as copy the files to hard disk.
    if you can see the CD's when mounted you can again copy the files to hard disk and your away.

    Try that or if your on a network, you can install over http



    J.
    Share on Google+

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    472
    And you burnt the cd's as iso-images, meaning you chose something like "burn image" in your cd-r software?

    Or maybe the images are corrupted, you can check that with a little app called 'md5'. You'll find it at the download site.
    ---
    proactive
    Share on Google+

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    319
    no...i extracted the files from the iso to my HD, and burned them from there. The checksums came out fine.
    Share on Google+

  5. #5
    Leftie Linux Lover the_JinX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Beverwijk Netherlands
    Posts
    2,535
    There should be a howto somewere on making the cd bootable...
    most (if not nearly all) distro's come with bootable cd's now..

    but the JinX hasn't used RH since version 5, so no real help...
    ASCII stupid question, get a stupid ANSI.
    When in Russia, pet a PETSCII.

    Get your ass over to SLAYRadio the best station for C64 Remixes !
    Share on Google+

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    429
    Originally posted by delstar
    no...i extracted the files from the iso to my HD, and burned them from there. The checksums came out fine.
    Thats the problem, you need to burn the iso's into a CD direct, some CD writing s/w will do this (some free burners should do it to)

    J.
    Share on Google+

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •