Linux Help....
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Linux Help....

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    1,463

    Question Linux Help....

    I just installed my first copy of Linux ever.... But im having some problems... I have two hardd rives and I installed Linux on my second one so I could leave my Windows2k intact... But whenever I boot up Linux it only shows the Linux option.... BTW Im using RedHat 7.2 and I didnt choose LILO as my boot manager.. it was the other one I know its not very descriptive but any help is appreciated
    Share on Google+

  2. #2
    oblio
    Guest
    you simply need to edit your /etc/lilo.conf and add an entry for the windows drive, it's very straight forward. Try man lilo. Redhat has a lilo front end i believe in xwindows.
    Share on Google+

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    472
    Then you must have chosen GRUB. Here is a useful link to a howto.
    ---
    proactive
    Share on Google+

  4. #4
    Senior since the 3 dot era
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    1,540

    multiboot

    You can enter linuxconf as root and change the entries there.

    However perhaps a better choice had been to use the NT loader and make an entry for Linux or perhaps you meant the NT Loader when you said: it wasn't lilo it was the other one' ?
    Search the forums here, there's a thread where I discussed with Vorlin and some others the possibilities to create a multiboot.
    here is the post with detailed explanations on how to setup your multiboot using lilo. (Sorry I never used another linux loader) look at the other posts in that thread for more info.

    http://www.antionline.com/showthread...207#post352903
    Share on Google+

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    1,463
    Im still lost... Can anyone help me to configure GRUB so i can see the Win2k (NTFS) partition?
    Share on Google+

  6. #6
    Senior since the 3 dot era
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    1,540
    Did you see that I added a link to my previous post...?

    about NTFS:

    Yes, you are able to mount an NTFS partition as read only in linux.

    modprobe ntfs

    (assuming that ntfs support was compiled into the kernel as a module) and

    mount -t ntfs /dev/hda3 /mnt

    Unless it's in your fstab as user mountable partition, only root has access to the ntfs partition.
    Share on Google+

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    293
    forget GRUB and install lilo... It's easier to figure out (I think... haven't really played with GRUB that much). Just launch the lilo-configuration wizzard thingy... if u still have trouble then try and format ur master boot record and install lilo again.....
    (lilo sometimes *****s up the mbr and the only (easy) way I've found to solve that problem is simply by formatting it...)
    zion1459
    Visit: http://www.cpc-net.org
    \"Software is like sex: it\'s better when it\'s free.\" -Linus Torvalds
    Share on Google+

  8. #8
    Senior since the 3 dot era
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    1,540
    Share on Google+

  9. #9
    Senior since the 3 dot era
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    1,540
    Originally posted by zion1459
    forget GRUB and install lilo...
    Yep, here's a link that gives you all info (by other links, etc...)

    http://www.winimage.com/bootpart.htm
    Share on Google+

  10. #10
    Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    1,463
    Umm.. How do I install LILO over the GRUB ?
    Share on Google+

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •