something i noticed...
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: something i noticed...

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    319

    something i noticed...

    I just did a quick netstat on my system, and it came up saying i had a connection to xp.mcafee.com:http. well, i don't have any mcafee software running on my system, and i'm not viewing their webpage. Why would they have a connection open with me?

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    1,462
    Im taking a wild guess here, but I think you have WindowsXP... If thats right its proabbly the windows firewall, Im not 100% sure but I think WinXP uses McAfee software for its firewall

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    319
    no...i'm using 2000 Advanced Server

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    4,786
    it probably says 'TIME WAIT' at the end of that line. if you viwed a web page that had an add/banner from macaffee, that loaded from their server you'll get this. if it says 'CONNECTION ESTABLISHED' and your not looking at anything from them or its their whenever you check, then i'd start looking into it.
    Bukhari:V3B48N826 “The Prophet said, ‘Isn’t the witness of a woman equal to half of that of a man?’ The women said, ‘Yes.’ He said, ‘This is because of the deficiency of a woman’s mind.’”

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    319
    it says Connection Established...that was what got me curious

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    108
    were you opening an attachment in hotmail... cos they run macaffee

  7. #7
    Fastest Thing Alive s0nIc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,584
    yeah.. there are some sites that are assosiated with mcafee.. hotmail is one.. well one that i know of.. oh and so as www.download.com (well they used to but i dunno if they still do now, i heard they moved to symantec)

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    883
    If you have XP. It connects automatically. Why? Because of the built in .net account (either a MSN or Hotmail email and login. If you notice when you login to MSN or Hotmail. It says all files are scan inroute for virii. Well it's the McAfee engine used.

    Hope this helps........
    The COOKIE TUX lives!!!!
    Windows NT crashed,I am the Blue Screen of Death.
    No one hears your screams.


  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    319
    OK....I don't have XP, and i didn't download anything from my hotmail account. it's still open, and has apparently been all day. i'm thinking of putting a sniffer on it and seeing what info is being sent. If nothing else, I'll e-mail the admin at Mcafee and see if he knows what's going on.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    4,786
    once upon on time, in the galaxy of another forum, in a land of working too long and sleeping too little, i just tripped-out and posted a reply, that was totally off the wall, to someones question . another member proceeded to give the correct information after pointing out the total obsurdity of my post.

    i left the post up, even though i felt a little foolish. hell, even Homer nodded. i also did not reach far for a reason to give negative anti-points to other posts in other forums, made by my corrector.
    Bukhari:V3B48N826 “The Prophet said, ‘Isn’t the witness of a woman equal to half of that of a man?’ The women said, ‘Yes.’ He said, ‘This is because of the deficiency of a woman’s mind.’”

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •