DeepFreeze for Win95/98/2000
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: DeepFreeze for Win95/98/2000

  1. #1
    AO French Antique News Whore
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    2,126

    DeepFreeze for Win95/98/2000

    I will like to shake a program call DeepFreeze with you.

    http://www.deepfreezeusa.com/

    This program act like the a system restore. You simply install a computer with all the programs you want that the user use. Then you install DeepFreeze. When you have install DeepFreeze and activate it, it take a image of your hard drive. When you "freeze" the environnement, whatever change is done to the environnement (Install new Program, Change IRQ, etc) is lost when the computer reboot. Everytime you reboot the computer, Windows go back to the state when you freeze the computer. You can also unfreeze a little space of hard drive so the users are able to save their Word or Excel Documents. The key to get their administrator login to unfreeze is very hard to find and it's a very good product that protect himself from lousy administrator with the option to unfreeze the computer for only a number of X reboot.

    I suggest that all the system administrator give it a check. It's realy save alot of time repairing computer that user crash.
    -Simon \"SDK\"

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    452
    My school has this installed on all their computers...it's very annoying being unable to save anything to disk.
    Elen alcarin ar gwath halla ná engwar.

  3. #3
    AO French Antique News Whore
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    2,126

    Hehe

    If your system admin didn't left unfreeze a certain amount of space, yes. I can be annoying!
    -Simon \"SDK\"

  4. #4
    Old-Fogey:Addicts founder Terr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    2,007
    There is an older thread on DeepFreeze which I thought I would just add a reference to.
    [HvC]Terr: L33T Technical Proficiency

  5. #5
    IT Specialist Ghost_25inf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    648
    Dosnt norton ghost do same thing?
    S25vd2xlZGdlIGlzIHBvd2VyIQ

  6. #6
    Senior Member BrainStop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    295

    Re: Ghost

    Not really.

    Norton Ghost is used to create an image of your "golden" installation. You then use it to install multiple PCs or re-install after a problem. However, it's not automatic.

    I don't know DeepFreeze, but it sounds like it basically keeps a "log" of all changes during a user session and as soon as you reboot, it ditches all those changes. Ghost doesn't block you from adding programs to the machine.

    Cheers,

    BrainStop

  7. #7
    AO French Antique News Whore
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    2,126
    BrainStop, it's basically that. Very good program for anything that the anybody can access.
    -Simon \"SDK\"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides