whats the fuss about the P4
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: whats the fuss about the P4

  1. #1
    IT Specialist Ghost_25inf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    648

    whats the fuss about the P4

    Hello all you computer gents and ladies

    I want your opinion on the pentium 4 vrs the pentium 3. you see I was thinking of upgrading my system to a P4 but I dont know if it is worth it, Right now compusa has it for 99 dollars and on the other hand I was thinking about upgrading my 733 to atleast a 1.5 gig now where talking about another 150.00 bucks. So tell me if Im waisting my time in buying this equipment or is it going to gain me in speed?







    answer and I promise to send some points your way. Thanks again...

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    429
    Why not consider Athlons?
    AMD has very good performance and better price than Intel.



    J.
    [glowpurple]manually editing your config files can break them. If this happens, you get to keep both pieces. [/glowpurple]

  3. #3
    IT Specialist Ghost_25inf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    648
    will it work with my gateway and how hard is it to change over? Like is there going to be any software conflicks?
    S25vd2xlZGdlIGlzIHBvd2VyIQ

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    590
    Exactly right, you should also look at AMD. Recently they have got even better with the new XP range. I got the new Athlon XP 1700+ for about HALF the price of an equivalent Intel Pentium. So far it's running sweeeeetly!!! For half the price, I don't see any reason not to go for it!!

    Greg
    \"Do you know what people are most afraid of?
    What they don\'t understand.
    When we don\'t understand, we turn to our assumptions.\"
    -- William Forrester

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    534
    well certainly u are not wasting your money... u will definately gain speed... if u go for P4..
    but just check your cache memory.. and if it is less they 512KB then make it that much
    because that will increase the performance...
    and your RAM also plays an important.. role... it should be at least 128MB .... and u will
    admire your box...

    intruder...
    A laptop, internet connection and beer.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    590
    Depends on what your previous Gateway system was. I'm assuming you had a Pentium II or Celeron. In that case, if you get an AMD CPU, it won't be compatible unless you get a new motherboard (cos motherboards for Intel's aren't compatible with motherboards for AMD's). Celeron and Pentium II motherboards aren't compatible with P4 motherboards, so you won't be able to just upgrade your CPU to a P4 if you had one of them.

    Also, you would have to make sure if the RAM you got will be compatible with the motherboard.

    Upgrading from Intel to AMD isn't real easy. Upgrading from Intel to Intel isn't that easy as well, cos they change their damn socket or slot or whatever in almost every new Pentium. Now, upgrading from AMD to AMD is the way to go - easy and cheap!! Can you tell I'm an AMD fan??

    Maybe it's time for a whole new system if you got the money.

    Greg
    \"Do you know what people are most afraid of?
    What they don\'t understand.
    When we don\'t understand, we turn to our assumptions.\"
    -- William Forrester

  7. #7
    IT Specialist Ghost_25inf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    648
    I have a p3 733mhs with 514 sd ram with win 2000 pro.
    S25vd2xlZGdlIGlzIHBvd2VyIQ

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    590
    Still, you will need to upgrade your motherboard, I'm pretty sure P4 uses a different socket type. If you do, make sure the motherboard supports the RAM you have (don't get one that just supports Rambus RAM - that is just toooo expensive and the benefits aren't that great for the price).

    Greg
    \"Do you know what people are most afraid of?
    What they don\'t understand.
    When we don\'t understand, we turn to our assumptions.\"
    -- William Forrester

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •