Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: but what exactly is honeypots ????

Question but what exactly is honeypots ????

hello friends...

i just wanted to ask u all .. what exactly is honey pots and .. i mean just i am very new to this thing... will anybody tell me what is it and wheather it is dangerous or helpful .. andin what way...

thanks .

intruder...
    A laptop, internet connection and beer.

mmmmmmm...honey pots

nah, sorry - I got no idea. But I would also like to find out cos I've seen the term floating around here and there. But I recall something about it having to do with acting as other systems or something - but I got no idea. I should look it up, but I gotta go sleep.

Greg
    \"Do you know what people are most afraid of?
    What they don\'t understand.
    When we don\'t understand, we turn to our assumptions.\"
    -- William Forrester

For as far as I remember what it exactly is, a honeypot is a computer/server that is meant to attract eventual hackers. The machine itself is of no real importance to the rest of the network, but it should look as if it's an important server. I believ ppl would run software on a honeypot to trace the hacker, thus the hacker could be identified.

As I said before, it's just what I think I remember 'bout it. I'm no expert on the field either.

Grtz,

sparkant.

Honeypots, to my knowledge is a project where people (securit experts or just enthusist) setup servers, and release them on the net waiting for hackers to do their stuff on them. They are used as a research kind of server, seeing what a hacker does, so they can learn what exactly hackers do. Did that make sense?
    script language=\"M$cript\";
    function beginError(bsod) {
    return true; }
    onLoad.windows = beginError;

There´s another one.. think it´s called a tarpit(?) Anyone who knows what that is?
    Dear Santa, I liked the mp3 player I got but next christmas I want a SA-7 surface to air missile