bios upgrade
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: bios upgrade

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    114

    Question bios upgrade

    how can i upgrade my bios..... i have a i810 chipset ...could it be done without openeng the box....i really need a solution(a quick one)...

    and also for a via chipset....for my old box.

    Thanx in advance...if it matters.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    114

    Question bios upgrade

    how can i upgrade my bios..... i have a i810 chipset ...could it be done without openeng the box....i really need a solution(a quick one)...

    and also for a via chipset....for my old box.

    Thanx in advance...if it matters.

  3. #3
    IT Specialist Ghost_25inf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    648
    Whats the brand name of your bios? you might be able to upgrade but Im telling you its very tricky you could fry your hole computer if you do it wrong

    check google with the name of your bios (like my old computers bios is phenox and there is upgrades but there no good for the fact the bios chip I have is way too old.) Is this because you cant see all your HD space that your asking to upgrade your bios?
    S25vd2xlZGdlIGlzIHBvd2VyIQ

  4. #4
    IT Specialist Ghost_25inf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    648
    Whats the brand name of your bios? you might be able to upgrade but Im telling you its very tricky you could fry your hole computer if you do it wrong

    check google with the name of your bios (like my old computers bios is phenox and there is upgrades but there no good for the fact the bios chip I have is way too old.) Is this because you cant see all your HD space that your asking to upgrade your bios?
    S25vd2xlZGdlIGlzIHBvd2VyIQ

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    114
    The Bios is AWARD- yr 1999
    Better Laugh At Your Own Problems..
    Coz...The World Laughs At Them

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    114
    The Bios is AWARD- yr 1999
    Better Laugh At Your Own Problems..
    Coz...The World Laughs At Them

  7. #7
    AO French Antique News Whore
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    2,126
    First, you have to check if your BIOS is can be upgrade. You need Flash ROM or EEPROM. If you don't have that, you cannot update your BIOS.

    Second, flashing the BIOS is one of the most dangerous thing to do in the computer world because if you fail, your motherboard is only good for garbage. Only use if you're REALY need it.

    When your computer boot up, press the Pause Button and check the first line on your screen for your Award Version and code.. Then check the last line at the bottom for the serial of your BIOS.

    After, check http://www.google.com or check http://www.phoenix.com/PlatSS/pcplat...awardbios.html (If you're lazy)

    Hope it help.
    -Simon \"SDK\"

  8. #8
    AO French Antique News Whore
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    2,126
    First, you have to check if your BIOS is can be upgrade. You need Flash ROM or EEPROM. If you don't have that, you cannot update your BIOS.

    Second, flashing the BIOS is one of the most dangerous thing to do in the computer world because if you fail, your motherboard is only good for garbage. Only use if you're REALY need it.

    When your computer boot up, press the Pause Button and check the first line on your screen for your Award Version and code.. Then check the last line at the bottom for the serial of your BIOS.

    After, check http://www.google.com or check http://www.phoenix.com/PlatSS/pcplat...awardbios.html (If you're lazy)

    Hope it help.
    -Simon \"SDK\"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •