Problem while Installing Red Hat 7.1
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Problem while Installing Red Hat 7.1

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    458

    Question Problem while Installing Red Hat 7.1

    i have a win 98 se with a 20 GB HDD
    and trying to install red hat 7.1

    1- i've done a partiton , using the PowerQuest PartitionMagic 7.0 for Win9X

    2- then reboot from the RedHat CD.

    during installation i have the following problem.

    something related to cluster or sector 1024 .. i can't remmember exactly ...


    what to do ?
    When the power of Love overcomes the Love of power, the world will know peace... Jimi Hendrix
    -------------------------------------------------------------
    I dream of giving birth to a child who will ask...... what was war?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    429
    sounds like it's lilo whinging that it can't boot past the 1024 sector...
    You could use partition magic to shift the windows partition to create a 10-20Mb bit of space at the start of the drive.

    If this isn't the problem, please post more details and I'm sure someone will help.

    J.
    [glowpurple]manually editing your config files can break them. If this happens, you get to keep both pieces. [/glowpurple]

  3. #3
    Senior since the 3 dot era
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    1,540
    Yep, like jcdux says... your LILO (the same goes for NT boot loader) needs to be within the range of the first 1024 sectors... see the AO newsletter, and other threads here for a brief explanation about IDE HDD limits and OS HDD limits... this 1024 sector thing often means that your Linux boot partition needs to be within the first 7.8 GB. Like jcdux mentioned: make a partition of about 16 MB for LILO to boot from.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    458
    ok i'll merge all the partitions .. and start it over ..
    and what i'm gonna do is:

    have two partitions .
    shift windows 20MB up .
    that's all !
    When the power of Love overcomes the Love of power, the world will know peace... Jimi Hendrix
    -------------------------------------------------------------
    I dream of giving birth to a child who will ask...... what was war?

  5. #5
    IT Specialist Ghost_25inf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    648
    S25vd2xlZGdlIGlzIHBvd2VyIQ

  6. #6
    Senior since the 3 dot era
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    1,540
    Bimmer: that's a good idea... other trick is using a small boot partition on your HDD

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    458
    will, thanks guys... but still i don't know what wrong with my pc...
    it keeps giving me that errors

    i'll try to format my drive and have linux from scratch... with no other ms bullshit.
    When the power of Love overcomes the Love of power, the world will know peace... Jimi Hendrix
    -------------------------------------------------------------
    I dream of giving birth to a child who will ask...... what was war?

  8. #8
    Senior since the 3 dot era
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    1,540
    Bimmer,

    This is what you do: partition your drive with fdisk into non-dos partition
    and a dos partition. Format the last one to VFAT. Leave the first as non-dos
    Install Windows to the VFAT partition.
    RunRedHat workstation install... this will automaticly format your non-dos partitions into a linux boot partition (16MB), a Linux root partition, a Linux Swap partition and a Linux Home partition. It will recognize your WIndows and suggest to install Lilo to the MBR of the first HDD. It will add a Dos label to your lilo menu, this will give you the possibility to boot windows (you can rename the dos label to windows) or boot your RH 7 Linux.
    Normally your partitions in Linux will look like
    IDE 0, Master Disk: dev/hda
    IDE 0, Slave Disk: dev/hdb
    IDE 1, Master Disk: dev/hdc
    IDE 1, Slave Disk: dev/hdd
    you can recognize partitions by the numbers, like hda1, hda2, hda3

    If you are still confused, read the Linux dual boot howto's:
    The Linux + Win 95 Mini-HOWTO: http://sunsite.unc.edu/LDP/HOWTO/mini/Linux+Win95.html

  9. #9
    AntiOnline Senior Member souleman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Flint, MI
    Posts
    2,884
    Umm, don't move Windows to much. It havs to be on the first primary partition, or it is going to start bitching at you. This is how I partitioned my 20 Gig drive:

    7 Gig Windows
    50 Meg Linux /boot partition
    6 Gig fat32 partiton (for data/mp3/etc shared in both os)
    7 Gig Linux / partion.

    This gives Windows and linux enough room for installing programs, etc, and a shared partition in case you want to be able to edit files in both os, or listen to mp3's, etc.
    \"Ignorance is bliss....
    but only for your enemy\"
    -- souleman

  10. #10
    Senior since the 3 dot era
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    1,540
    Yep Souleman, that's a pretty good setup

    I have done almost the same...
    I created a Win Partition and a small boot partition, then a partition for Install files (FAT32), a partition for all my data (FAT32) and the usual Linux partitions at the remaining space (swap, root, home)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •