NIC's for linux??
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: NIC's for linux??

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    35

    NIC's for linux??

    Hello,

    Im trying to set up a linux as a firewall for my LAN. Soo im running redhat 7.1 -- the problem im having is i installed two "ISA" realtek Network Cards but it will only reconize one of the cards and gives me a failed response on the other. Does anyone have an idea on how i can get linux to recognize both cards??

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    119
    i had with both on the same machine(red hat 7*) no problems

    NE2000
    3c509

    cheers,
    the only thing that doesn\'t change is everything will always change.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    18
    Were they both they exact same NIC card.


  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    12
    What I have found is that with most NIC's you have to boot in dos and run the diagnostic utility and make sure both are working and NOT set to the same IRQ and I/O port
    Gun Control is Being Able to Hit Your Target

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    853
    did u start eth1 ad well as eth0 just an idea ?
    or rename one to eth1 cause nix might be setting them to the same thing unlikly but worth a look into
    RiOtEr

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    35
    YAh thats what i tryed i named ETH0
    (eth02345) and still it didnt reconize
    the other one... And yes they are both the
    exact same NIC. What would happen if i buy
    a PCI slot NIC would that make a difference??

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    883
    Get a Linksys (PCI) LNE TX.... It works great in Linux and is cheap......
    My $.02 worth....
    The COOKIE TUX lives!!!!
    Windows NT crashed,I am the Blue Screen of Death.
    No one hears your screams.


  8. #8
    Senior since the 3 dot era
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    1,540
    Silkk, the Realtek NIC's should work with Redhat 7.x
    Harware compatibility:
    http://hardware.redhat.com/hcl/?page...etails&hid=645
    http://hardware.redhat.com/hcl/?page...tails&hid=1936
    http://hardware.redhat.com/hcl/?page...tails&hid=1951
    http://hardware.redhat.com/hcl/?page...etails&hid=660

    I have a Linux based (not RH) firewall with 2 Realtek NIC's
    they are working fine. (Eth0 ISA and Eth1 PCI)

    Linux Ethernet howto
    http://www.linuxdoc.org/HOWTO/Ethernet-HOWTO.html

    I suggest that you use the DOS utility to set the cards to different I/O and IRQ settings and load the cards with those settings in your linux.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    243
    hmm... I'm not sure, I'd just read that HOW-TO, maybe it will help....
    Search First Ask Second. www.google.com

  10. #10
    Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    1,463
    Try any NetGear NIC, They are all compatible with RedHat...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides