Novell Networks (not humour)
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Novell Networks (not humour)

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    346

    Novell Networks (not humour)

    Does anyone know how to trace an anonymous message across a Novell Network? I just received one on a network that's not supposed to support messages from user Y7K9E6.

    SSJVegeta-Sei

  2. #2
    Old-Fogey:Addicts founder Terr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    2,007
    Are these popup messages? Winpopup/ Novell Send Message dialog windows with a little OK button in the middle?
    [HvC]Terr: L33T Technical Proficiency

  3. #3
    Senior Member cwk9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    1,211
    Back in high school I had a blast with anonymous messages.
    Its not software piracy. Iím just making multiple off site backups.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    786
    I sorta had a run in with that... Too bad it wasn't anonymous... The administrator has the computer name set with the Room number and Computer number, so it was only about a minute or two before she was there... Since the administrator has a class, it took a while to answer all the student's questions about the little pop-up... I've learned...

    Oh Yeah: If you know where the computers are (IP to location), you should beable to ping that Y7K9E6 user, or it may stand for something, like KP said below... BTW KP, if you change yours, you have to tell your friend also ...

    -Tim_axe

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    30
    You can counter being traced by simply changing your name at the Novell login. So, instead of ,"R317C12" (Room 317, computer 12) you put in "R###C##". This can be traced by a simple ping if they mapped out the IPs + location, but admin is usually too lazy. IF you just wanna send a message to a buddy (it won't be noticed by anyo9ne but your friend) the just type in your friends PC name before your message.

    -Krakpype
    Fight the Power!

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    35
    can you get on the console?
    It must be them again. Start the response cycle.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    346
    The problem is that the instant messenger has been disabled... or so I thought... I can't reach the message console.
    Oh, and the whole thing is pure IPX/SPX, making it hard to trace addresses.

    SSJVegeta-Sei


    Pierce me with steel, rend me with claw and fang; as I die, a legend is born for another generation to follow.
    An\' it harm none, do as ye will. - Wiccan Rede

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •