Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: where to start in programming?

where to start in programming?

I'm a complete newb and no very little about anything. I'm pretty sure i wanna learn to program, so i just need to know where to start. First, i have to learn some languages right? If anyone could just tell me where to start an where to go on from there i would really appreciate it.

qBasic was my first experience with programming languages (long time ago...) . not the best but not too bad to learn the basics (as the name says... ).
    then Visual Basic (my favourite), html, javascript, php

this was my way, i don't say it's the best...

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "Knowledge is the Real Power"
    \"Knowledge is the Real Power\"

And you can learn what meister said by searching over Internet and downloading some good tutourials, e-books, manuals,.....
    Good luck

Alot of people say that learning a high-level language such as Basic or Pascal helps understand the lower level languages such as C and Assembly. Not I. I say learn Assembly first, then work your way up.

Cool short answer

As others said most easy to learn is qbasic or visual basic.. this languages are really easy to learn but problem is that you can get some "wrong habits" because this languages are not much similar to C or C++.

other languages you could start with are languages as pascal or delphi - IMHO this languages are best to start with because they are pretty similar to C or C++ in their structure but the syntax is more understandable than C/C++ syntax is...

I mean that

if chckAutomat.Checked = true then
    begin
    lblVysledek.Caption := edtVstup1.Text + ' ' + edtVstup2.text;
    end

is more easy to grasp than

for(i=0;i<vpoli;i++)
    {
    cout<<PoleHodnot[i]<<endl; //vypise serazene hodnoty
    }

(this examples aren't the same, of course, i just put here part of my progs I now found)