Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Background Colors for Web Pages

Question Background Colors for Web Pages

I'm just learning HTML and planning my first web site. I'd like some advice from more experienced people. Question: What background colors do you like to use? I realize someone might say, "What does it matter?" But I want something that will be easy on my viewers eyes. Some of my pages might have a good bit of text too. What background/text color combinations have you found to be pleasing to the eye and less likely to cause eye straing and/or annoyance on the part of the page viewer? Thanks.
    For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.
    (Romans 6:23, WEB)

You can not beat white as the best color for a web background. All other colors provide a contrast and are highly visible. Just my personal opinion.
    Wine maketh merry: but money answereth all things.
    --Ecclesiastes 10:19

Black text on a white background tends to be easiest to read, hence it is the default for most browsers. Choose completely opposite shades or else you'll end up with an unreadable mess, and *never* use complimentary colours (yellow/purple, red/green, blue/orange) together as they will make an absolute mess of things and will look blurred to anyone who doesn't have the latest LCD monitor.

Make sure you use a bright text on a dark background (or vice versa), don't use complimentary colours and don't use different shades of the same colour and you should be okay. If you're ever stuck, just fall back on black on white.
    Paul Waring - Web site design and development.

Okay guys,
    I've decided to go with a white back ground and black text, and to use red a main color theme. Thanks for you imput.
    For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.
    (Romans 6:23, WEB)