Opera for Linux
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Opera for Linux

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    800

    Question Opera for Linux

    Hey all,
    I have Red Hat 7.1 installed on a pentium II 300 and i am trying to get opera installed on it. I downloaded the rpm for it and tried to install it. When I did rpm -ivh (filename) It said i need libXm.so.2. Where do I find this and how do I install it when I find it? Is it on the CD?
    [gloworange]\"A hacker is someone who has a passion for technology, someone who is possessed by a desire to figure out how things work.\" [/gloworange]

  2. #2
    AntiOnline Senior Member souleman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Flint, MI
    Posts
    2,884
    It should be on the CD, because opera comes with RH (atleast I am pretty sure it came with 7.2). Anyway, search google, I am sure it is there someplace. Also, since you must be running some version of X, go to www.ximian.com They have a program called RedCarpet which is pretty cool. I am pretty sure that it supporst updates on opera.
    \"Ignorance is bliss....
    but only for your enemy\"
    -- souleman

  3. #3
    Leftie Linux Lover the_JinX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Beverwijk Netherlands
    Posts
    2,534
    tried googleing for the lib, that usualy works...

    I have had no probs what so ever with the opera 4 linux...
    But then, I never use RPM's...

    Just the tgz

    It has a nice install script with it..
    ASCII stupid question, get a stupid ANSI.
    When in Russia, pet a PETSCII.

    Get your ass over to SLAYRadio the best station for C64 Remixes !

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    800
    Originally posted here by the_JinX
    tried googleing for the lib, that usualy works...

    I have had no probs what so ever with the opera 4 linux...
    But then, I never use RPM's...

    Just the tgz

    It has a nice install script with it..
    Do you use the dynamicly linked or staticly linked? Whats the difference?
    How do you install it?
    [gloworange]\"A hacker is someone who has a passion for technology, someone who is possessed by a desire to figure out how things work.\" [/gloworange]

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    472
    You probably seen the .DLLs in Windows? Tried deleting some from c:\winnt\system32\?
    Well, what's gonna happen is that applications are gonna fail to execute because the DLLs are missing. Where I'm getting at is that these applications are Dynamically Linked (DLL=Dynamic Linked Library), different apps can use the same libraries. This saves space.

    Same thing in Linux, there are libraries and you can link your applicaions to these. With static linking you include the whole library into your executable, which makes the application bigger. But then again you won't have the problem with missing (deleted) libraries.
    ---
    proactive

  6. #6
    Leftie Linux Lover the_JinX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Beverwijk Netherlands
    Posts
    2,534
    I use the dynamicly linked ones..

    But I compiled my own QT libs..

    QT is the library behind Opera and KDE (www.trolltech.com)

    there is a script u have to execute as root soething like Setup or something

    just type ./Setup

    (if the file name = Setup
    ASCII stupid question, get a stupid ANSI.
    When in Russia, pet a PETSCII.

    Get your ass over to SLAYRadio the best station for C64 Remixes !

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    800
    What should I run ? Gnome or KDE?
    [gloworange]\"A hacker is someone who has a passion for technology, someone who is possessed by a desire to figure out how things work.\" [/gloworange]

  8. #8
    AntiOnline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    514
    Hehe that question will start a small war! But from my experiences using both Desktops, they are both excellent.
    [shadow]uraloony, Founder of Loony Services[/shadow]
    Visit us at
    [gloworange]http://www.loonyservices.com/[/gloworange]

  9. #9
    AntiOnline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    514
    Also, I downloaded and installed opera for Red Hat 7.2 without a hitch. Worked beautifully.
    [shadow]uraloony, Founder of Loony Services[/shadow]
    Visit us at
    [gloworange]http://www.loonyservices.com/[/gloworange]

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    800
    Originally posted here by uraloony
    Hehe that question will start a small war! But from my experiences using both Desktops, they are both excellent.
    ussually I will install both but I only have a one gig harddrive for now.
    [gloworange]\"A hacker is someone who has a passion for technology, someone who is possessed by a desire to figure out how things work.\" [/gloworange]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •