Linux
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Linux

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    35

    Question Linux

    I know this question doesnt really pertain to Security but more to tech support.

    i have a laptop (compaq 1240) runnin redhat linux distro 7.0
    I cannot get the internal modem supported (56k)
    Does anyone know where i might be able to get a driver for this modem to work in linux?

  2. #2
    Senior Member cwk9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    1,211
    Well chances are if itís a win-modem it will never work. Winmodems also called controller-less modems or software modems. Winmodems cannot function without a special driver which emulates a large number of hardware modem's functions. So if there are not drivers for Linux then you screwed like me. Try looking around www.linmodems.org or www.o2.net/~gromitkc/winmodem.html see what you can find

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    35
    Ya, it probobly is a win only modem, but i would not think so becuase it works fully in dos (Not command Promt)

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    968
    I have the same issue but not....

    RedHat Linux 7.2 (at linmodems.org) has a driver set to work with it.....
    I downloaded the RPM for my Kernel 2.4.7-10 but to my hopes, nothing.....
    I tells me that there is no binary (which is true) and one *something* (still learning linux)
    Anyways, it sais fail to read/open and quits.....
    I tried through the console and typed the rpm -i lt........ and it did stuff but then nothing?

    Also, I tried running my modem on /dev/ttyS0 with XON/OFF (software) and it finds the modem, sais it's ready and when I go to dial out, it initializes it but then it just stops there....

    Does anyone know what I should do?

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    7
    I use an IBM Thinkpad T21 with the same problem. I guess the most stress free way out of the mess is getting buying and installing an external modem. Linux seems to support a wide variety of them.
    The best prayers we prayed are probably those that were never answered!

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    61

    try the company site

    i have an internal modem(motorola sm56)..it would not work in linux..finally i checked out motorola's site and downloaded their driver for Red Hat..However it does not work that well as it works in windows..sometimes it does not work..
    so i would suggest you try out the companys' site for the needed drivers and necessary instructions

    with regards
    scorpion

  7. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    968
    WooHoo!!!!

    I am currently writing this from my LINUX web browser Konqueror

    I DID IT!!! I Got a Linmodem to work.... Finally!

    Ok for those wondering how....

    Go into your linux Control Center....
    The first thing that pops up is a info page...
    WRITE DOWN EVERYTHING!!!!
    Note the Release: ie: 2.4.7-10
    and the "Machine": ie: i686

    then head over to linmodems.org....
    go to download sections....

    go to your flavor (ie: Mandrake, RedHat)
    then look throught the ftp links.....
    find the package that suits your needs....

    ie: ltmodem-kv_[color=&FF0048]2.4.7-10[/color]-600b15-1.i686.rpm

    then, put it on a floppy....
    go into linux....
    DO NOT USE THE GRAPHICAL RPM!!!
    Go into Konsole.....
    Go to /mnt/floppy....
    type: rpm -i ltmodem......686.rpm

    it'll install the device drivers and tell you the ttyxxxxx....
    then, go to internet -> internet dialer...
    then go to the device tab, and pick /dev/modem....
    then set your info and you should do it!

    any problems, pm me!

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    712
    I think during the Linux install (though I might be thinking solely of Mandrake), it actually says (heavily paraphrased) "You have an internal modem that I see but can't use. Go to www.linmodems.org and see if there's something there that can help us." (like I said, something to that effect - except it's only about twelve words worth of text, if that... LOL)

    (congrats, BTW)
    \"Windows has detected that a gnat has farted in the general vicinity. You must reboot for changes to take affect. Reboot now?\"

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    968
    Thanks draziw!!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •