Firewall?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Firewall?

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    594

    Firewall?

    Can anyone recommend a really good firewall... after a little "problem" using kazaa I've decided to start using a firewall and I don't know where to start.

    Gracias... Jag291

  2. #2
    Priapistic Monk KorpDeath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    2,628
    Sygate, Tiny, Outpost, www.sygate.com www.tinysoftware.com and www.agnitum.com, respectively.
    Mankind have a great aversion to intellectual labor; but even supposing knowledge to be easily attainable, more people would be content to be ignorant than would take even a little trouble to acquire it.
    - Samuel Johnson

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    159

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    380
    I chained Zonealarm and TPF for added security.

    Crank security to maximum in ZoneAlarm and do not give server rights to progs you don't know.

    Read on firewalls also, they are cool to set up...
    [shadow]Scorp666, the Infamous Orgasmatron[/shadow]

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    27
    I use both zone alarm and Black Ice. I was just goofing around with the two and found out that zone alarm was letting things slip through and access my computer(/me not happy with that), so now I use both. No more problems.
    thinking........

  6. #6
    Priapistic Monk KorpDeath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    2,628
    I've said it before I'll say it again ZA is flaming pile of crap.. And let me tell you something else I've lost what little respect I had for VNUNET when I read an article where the writer actually pushes ZA. Pfft! What a joke.
    Mankind have a great aversion to intellectual labor; but even supposing knowledge to be easily attainable, more people would be content to be ignorant than would take even a little trouble to acquire it.
    - Samuel Johnson

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    27
    I agree but it makes home networking with computer idiot parents happy. So I use Black Ice and zone alarm on the desktop and only black ice on my laptop. I like the info that you get with Black Ice, and it's much more better to those in the know
    thinking........

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    594
    Why is ZA a "flaming pile of crap"?

  9. #9
    Webius Designerous Indiginous
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    1,123
    I know I've had problems with zone alarm's permissions screwing up. I'll be on the internet and then whamm.. it shuts all access. Sometimes I have to start a prog like 2 or 3 times before it will detect it going out and then ask if I will allow access. I have to reinstall it like once a month to stop this from occuring. I think its about time for a switch. I think I'm going to go to tiny's firewall. has anyone else had this problem with ZA w/ 98se.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    105
    yeah go out and look around for blackice its the best one to use in my opinion
    --=::[ LeNc}{ ]::=-- stealing your time for pathetic web sites since 1998

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •