Free
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Free

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    21

    Free

    Will the free zone alarm work with a 56K modem? The site only mentioned satallite and cable.Also will it show the stealth mode in the free version?

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    1,462
    Dont use ZoneAlarm..... Check out the Antionline FAQ (http://www.antionline.com/showthread...hreadid=220666) And choose a firewall from there

  3. #3
    Oops,
    yes it will work, I am using free Zone Alarm with 56k modem by now.
    By the way, Acid, why you suggest not using zone alarm? you've mentioned zonealarm in your tutorial too !!! ( in the first choce!) why?

  4. #4
    AO Soccer Mom debwalin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    2,185
    Yes Zone Alarm does work with a 56k. I was using Zone Alarm, and I have since changed. I am NOT going to mention which one I'm using now, because I'm happy with it, and not interested in changing again, and if I tell you which one I use, then 15 people will post a good reason to use a different one...lol. But it is one of the ones in the thread that ac1d mentioned. So to answer your question, yes it will work with 56k, and yes it does allow you to use Stealth Mode if you'd like.

    Deb
    Outside of a dog, a book is man's best friend. Inside of a dog it's too dark to read.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    94
    Originally posted here by debwalin
    I am NOT going to mention which one I'm using now, because I'm happy with it, and not interested in changing again, and if I tell you which one I use, then 15 people will post a good reason to use a different one...lol.
    LOL that happens so often here.

    yes it'll work, i use it

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    590
    Just download the newest version of Zonealarm, Acid> I know there are some vulnerabilities with Zonealarm but then again Sygate Pro (the newest) also has the same problem.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    21
    Thanks you all for the replies. I probably will use Zonealarm since it is free. Was a little leary to reply to the 1st reply. Afraid I had asked something tupid. One thing I don't want to happen is get ignored. I have many questions to ask in the future.

    I love it here. Everyone has been SUPER. I find that forums are a good place to learn and talk to people all over the world especially when you're disabled.

    Thanks

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    21

    Angry

    OK Acid. I tried Zone Alarm. I should have istened to you. some of my friends use it but with me I started to get "Illegal Operations" and dialup box showing when I turned on the computer. So maybe I will try Tiny Software.
    [glowpurple]How do you play the other side of a CD?[/glowpurple]

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    64
    I use ZoneAlarm Pro 3.0.091 and always when y try to Log into Chat that uses Java it doesn't open the chat window, i have to shut down ZOne Alarm to enter, but it works fine .

  10. #10
    Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    1,462
    Unleashed: IMO ZoneAlarm is the AOL of firewalls... There is a huge amount of exploits for it and it can be shut down by any user with a few simple lines of code...... I would reccomend Sygate or Tiny

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •