To be wireless or not to be

Thread: To be wireless or not to be

Post To be wireless or not to be

I recently thought about networking my computers together, I was wondering, should I go wireless or Cat5. Please reply and tell me your feelings on the wireless situation.
    ! Windows = Superior

Wireless cost more but if cabling is going to be a pain in the ass it might be worth it.
    Its not software piracy. Iím just making multiple off site backups.

I debated the same question not too long ago when I got my computer fors chool, and decided just to run cat5 to my room and use a router to share my cable connection. However, since I got my laptop, I have been looking back into wireless and realize since my room has a central location in my house - I think that I may set up an wireless access point there.

From what I read there have been many security issues with wireless, which is the only thing other than cost (I am a college student) holding me back. However, I think the range of most affordable access points (500 ft outdoors) won't extend far off my property if it even gets that far.

GO WIRELESS! I just switched and it's definately worth the extra $$$! Nothen like sitten out in the sun on a laptop surfen the web! (I'm a loser) Just don't be stupid about it.....I'm the ONLY one in my area that changed the IP of my router and bothered to set up WEP. I can't tell you how many people just plug in their router and say "Look it works!" and never read the instructions on setting up any security. I highly reccomend Linksys but don't reccomed doing the firmware upgrade for the router.

P.S. For the routers I've come across (ALL of em) That don't have any security, I've actually zero'd in on their signal, knocked on their door and told them their network was open....most of them were in shock.
    (For anybody looken at me funny, I can't spell when I'm this tired)

Get in touch if U have any questions

If you are at all concerned about security, do not go wireless.