Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Best Linux Distro

Best Linux Distro

Ok so I'm not a complete newbie to linux. I've used Red Hat and currently use Mandrake 8.2. I was wondering what you all are using and what you would recommend for someone who is a little more advance than a regular newbie. Thanks in advance for all those who answer this post.(Even the flamers )

ummm well either red hat or slackware...but then again it just depends on what u want to learn.
    aislinn, Aria, BTBAM, chevelle, codeseven, Cky, dredg, evergreen terrace, from autumn to ashes,hopesfall, hxc, luti-kriss, nirvana, norma jean, shai hulud, this hero dies, tool, underoath, zao,

Banned
    RedHat 7.3 in console mode

Mucolaca

Do you use slackware? If so what is it that stands out as being some of it's better features compared to other distros?

In my opinion Mandrake is one of the best desktop distros. If you want to know what the best server Linux is I have no clue.
    Its not software piracy. I’m just making multiple off site backups.

Banned
    Either Mandrake or Solaris.... I'll always love RedHat though.

I have not personly used slackware but I have heard good things about it...but differnet distro's have there + and -. It just depends one what you are wanting to learn or do.

ps..I use mandrake...but of my understanding red hat and slackware is more "advanced" dunno if that is true or not becouse I have only used Mandrake..well beside my shell.
    aislinn, Aria, BTBAM, chevelle, codeseven, Cky, dredg, evergreen terrace, from autumn to ashes,hopesfall, hxc, luti-kriss, nirvana, norma jean, shai hulud, this hero dies, tool, underoath, zao,

I was wondering what you all are using and what you would recommend for someone who is a little more advance than a regular newbie.