ports 48908 and 49164
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: ports 48908 and 49164

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    4

    ports 48908 and 49164

    First time post....

    Im new here and have done a bunch of reading and searching, but i cant find the answer i need...

    Im on a WinME machine (its my work comp) and a local host port scan revealed open ports 48908 and 49164...

    does anyone know what services these ports are for?

    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    1,463
    Hmmm, I did a search on google and it didnt come up with any good results... All the ports above 1024 are dynamic (any program can run a service on them if it wishes to) Try to connect to the ports, and scan your machine for spyware and trojans
    Good luck!

  3. #3
    Webius Designerous Indiginous
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    1,121
    ya those are client ports as acid said. I would suggest closing them. I really don't know of any progs that use those ports.

    Check out aplleshare ip.. I think that may be what port 49164 is

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    149
    try fport from foundstone it will tell you what program is running that has the port open
    www.foundstone.com

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    4
    I appreciate everyones help!

    I took ac1dsp3ctrum's advice and ran adaware and the cleaner... both turned up with nothing...

    and i got fport thanks to AngryBob, but cant seem to get it to work at all... but im still playin with it.

    but i didnt understand xmaddness's recomendation to close the ports. I dont know how to close ports other than stop the application holding it open, and i cant figure out yet what is holding these open... is there a way to just close em?

    again, thanks for your replies!

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    1,463
    To close a port just use a Firewall (ZoneAlarm, {URL=http://www.sygate.com]Sygate[/URL], or Tiny) Then in the firewalls options choose to block incoming and outgoing access to that port, that way no program can send information from that port to a website or another computer and no one can connect to your computer

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    4,786
    to use fport just put it in the path, open a command prompt and enter fport.
    Bukhari:V3B48N826 “The Prophet said, ‘Isn’t the witness of a woman equal to half of that of a man?’ The women said, ‘Yes.’ He said, ‘This is because of the deficiency of a woman’s mind.’”

  8. #8
    Fastest Thing Alive s0nIc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,584
    i really wouldnt suggest to close them ports UNLESS u know what uses those ports.. what if those ports are important and have to remain open..?

    i suggest u find out first what program or application uses that port.. and if those apps have an alternative port if those ports are closed..

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    522
    well somtimes when you run a firewall and tell it to ask before incomming/outgoing data go from that port it will tell you what is using it.... just a hint.

    I suggest Tiny Personal Firewall
    tinysoftware.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides