I did it!!!!!! - Page 2
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: I did it!!!!!!

  1. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    255
    na dont lock it.
    if u have a trojan it might ask you if u want Sub7.exe to access the internet, all u do is block it, and check what proggies access the internet.

    preep
    http://www.attrition.org/gallery/computing/forum/tn/youarenot.gif.html

  2. #12
    Fastest Thing Alive s0nIc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,584
    yeah.. use the lock only during CODE RED situations..

  3. #13
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    156
    k thanks. is ZoneAlarm (free edition) any good? I am not getting as many alerts with ZoneAlarm (as I did with Norton Personal Firewall), this is making me think its not as good. does ZoneAlarm detect port scans?

  4. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3
    I know personnally that ZA (paid version) detects port scans. The free version does too.

  5. #15
    Flash M0nkey
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    3,447
    It seems to be making my internet alot faster too!
    could just be blocking all the other crap that ws using up your bandwith

    v_Ln

  6. #16
    Senior Member Ouroboros's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Superior, WI USA
    Posts
    628

    Post lockdown

    Originally posted here by gambay
    I know personnally that ZA (paid version) detects port scans. The free version does too.

    The lockdown function on ZA seems, to me at least, to be a PANIC button. If you choose to block all incoming traffic, which is what that button does, you lose your connection...as most ISPs will be blocked from pinging your connection status. Result: You reboot.

    The firewall that I use allows one to block ONLY the intruders (a set criteria, of course), and only them, and the subnet mask that they may use. Be careful of what you use to protect yourself...a trigger finger isn't going to protect you...

    Ouroboros

    www.agnitum.com

    O
    "entia non sunt multiplicanda praeter necessitatem"

    "entities should not be multiplied beyond necessity."

    -Occam's Razor


  7. #17
    AntiOnline Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    91

    Use of Zone Alarm lock

    The way I use the lock in Zone Alarm is to put it on when I plan to be away from the computer for several hours but don't wish to shut down. Yes, I do lose my connection. I suppose if I really wanted the Internet connection immediately when I came back, I could reboot. But I have found that all I really need to do is take the lock off, then do something else at my desk for a few minutes. Heck, I often just play a quick game of Free Cell. And in that time my ISP has found me again and I've got my cable connection back. It may vary with the ISP, though, but you might want to try it and see how long it actually does take.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •