Busy System
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Busy System

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    21

    Busy System

    For the past 2 weeks, while on the internet only, The computer has frozen. I C+A+D and get a blue screen that tells me that the system is busy or unstable. Then I have to shut it off and go through scandisk. It only does it on the internet.

    I've opened up the case to see if it needs air.

    So far this morning, I've been on for 1 hour and it's OK.

    I've gone to msconfig and optimized the start menu.

    Any more suggestions?
    [glowpurple]How do you play the other side of a CD?[/glowpurple]

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Yes
    Posts
    4,424
    Can you give some more info: Windows Version, processes that are running when the problem occurs, programs you are running,....? Also, your connection-type, modem you use,... Anything you can think of that may be helpful...

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    520
    I've found at google that a certain backdoor allows a messed up ctrl+alt+del to do that and of course scan disk will scann ur pc because it was an improper shutdown. Try a trojan/virus scan and see what ya get. Then tell me.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    21
    Win 98se, 56k mocem, E-trust AV, Athlon 850, 512 meg memory Rage and ATI 128 Rage video card.

    The only program I'm running at the time is Internet Explorer.
    [glowpurple]How do you play the other side of a CD?[/glowpurple]

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    21
    Win 98se, 56k mocem, E-trust AV, Athlon 850, 512 meg memory Rage and ATI 128 Rage video card.

    The only program I'm running at the time is Internet Explorer.
    [glowpurple]How do you play the other side of a CD?[/glowpurple]

  6. #6
    Senior since the 3 dot era
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    1,542
    Well, oops... if it's stable at other progs, then it's probably not a temperature issue. Perhaps your Internet Explorer is messed up. However bluescreens ... lol that's a M$ thing.

    Did you changed something on your box... like a new videocard or some software that auto runs at start up? I know sometimes sygate (still a good personal firewall) and some (OpenGL supporting) Videocards can have conflicts. And like JRoc said a trojan or similar can cause that too.

  7. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Yes
    Posts
    4,424
    Okies, now we're getting somewhere... Next time the BSOD appears, write down EXACTLY what it says... Post it here, and we'll have a look at it... Or look for it yourself at MS's Knowledge Base...

  8. #8
    Hi mom!
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    1,103
    If it is just an ie-problem, try to upgrade it through windows-update. Fast and simple, and it solves a bunch of errors.
    I wish to express my gratitude to the people of Italy. Thank you for inventing pizza.

  9. #9
    Senior Member cwk9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    1,211
    Lol I get a BSOD when I try to update windows.
    Its not software piracy. I’m just making multiple off site backups.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    4,786
    if you using aol ver 6 or lower its probably a script kiddie knocken you down
    Bukhari:V3B48N826 “The Prophet said, ‘Isn’t the witness of a woman equal to half of that of a man?’ The women said, ‘Yes.’ He said, ‘This is because of the deficiency of a woman’s mind.’”

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •