verizon

Thread: verizon

Lightbulb verizon

Well heres a little story for ya :

One day i was setting up an apache server and i couldnt get the damn thing to work . I sat there viewing my own webpage at my ip address and it was clearly visible to me. But on the other end no one else could view it. Now realizing that when verizon said that i could not install a webserver be it personall or professional on the standard dsl line , i knew they where kidding. Being that i know some things about linux(im no expert) i decided to ask for some info and help(thanks goes out to corruptedpacket) he showed me and helped me learn some things about configureing a apache server. It wasnt as hard as i expected but still i didnt know a damn thing about it. But now that i think about it , its kinda of ****ed up the Verizon would at there end , on their routers , block all traffice going to anyones port 80. I mean if i had dialup it would be ok , but not dsl or even cable(as of comcast , not sure about anyone elses) Well after binding my apache server to port 1033 and adjusting my domains config files i was able to redirt it to my host. I just wanted to explain my hate for verizon and clear up anyone elses confusion on why there apache or any other servers where not working. i mean i cant even understand why they would do anything like that . Its messed up if you askme. God only knows what else they blocked off. Well if anyones interested check out www.darktower.tk (yea i knows its a free domain but im poor)
    it cant rain every day

I dont know if this will make you feel any better but i work for verizon wireless(cell phones) and i haet them as well, they really screw around with their customers. So dont suprised when they throw you little suprises like this.
    btw does verizon cap your uploads, I am on dsl but when i had a cable modem the upload was capped and running a server would be almost impossible.
    \"Drastic times call for drastic measures.\"