2 open ports...
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: 2 open ports...

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    61

    2 open ports...

    What do tcp ports 32768 and 32769 do? What services use them? I port scanned myself and found them open.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    856
    Someone else posted this link to Robin Keir's Giant Port List a while back. It might help. http://keir.net/portlist.html
    For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.
    (Romans 6:23, WEB)

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    4,786
    might be an IM, you got 1 running?
    Bukhari:V3B48N826 “The Prophet said, ‘Isn’t the witness of a woman equal to half of that of a man?’ The women said, ‘Yes.’ He said, ‘This is because of the deficiency of a woman’s mind.’”

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    689
    32768 tcp HackersParadise [trojan] Hacker's Paradise
    32768 udp filenet-tms Filenet TMS
    32769 tcp filenet-rpc Filenet RPC
    32769 udp filenet-rpc Filenet RPC

    Look here for more ports http://www.neohapsis.com/neolabs/neo...neo-ports.html
    Wine maketh merry: but money answereth all things.
    --Ecclesiastes 10:19

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    520
    Why am I thinking their are more trojan ports than their are service ones? God, we live in a sick world...

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    243
    *sighs* and to think it's TROJANS taking up the ports, no one likes trojans!!!! Thanks for the link preacherman to the ports list.
    Search First Ask Second. www.google.com

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    1,207
    Do the following on Linux:

    As root, do

    /sbin/fuser -n tcp 32768

    Where 32768 is the port number you're interested in.

    Then it should give you a PID or PIDs of process(es) which are using those port numbers.

    Then do ps <that number>, for example on my machine, I did

    [root@athlon ~]# /sbin/fuser -n tcp 32768
    32768/tcp: 865

    Then

    [root@athlon ~]# ps 865
    PID TTY STAT TIME COMMAND
    865 ? S 0:00 rpc.statd

    So you can see, on my machine rpc.statd has that port number open.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    61
    It was Yahoo! Messenger. I closed it, and the port was no longer open.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides