System reboot
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: System reboot

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    38

    Unhappy System reboot

    Hey fellow antionline members.I have zone alarm,norton personal firewall and norton anti-virus 2002 installed.When I installed Finjans surfin guard( http://www.finjan.com ) my system kept re-booting everytime i logged into windows,this has happened before with Outpost personal firewall.Outpost personal firewall told me that this could happen so I was aware that it could happen.Why can installing to many firewalls/security products cause the system to keep re-booting?.Security is a must for me so I like to have lots of firewalls running when im online.Would it be better to have just say.........,Norton boot with windows then enable all my other firewalls when windows has fully loaded or will my system still re-boot anyway because those firewalls are installed?.Please help.
    If l0vε aint g4mε,thεn h0w c0mε thεrε arε 0 m4ny p|4yεr$?

  2. #2
    Priapistic Monk KorpDeath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    2,628
    There are certain program that want certain memory space and if something else is ocupying that memeory space you get problems. Without goin into too much detail, it means; stop trying to run all of those services simultaneously. Windows can't hack it.


    If you are that concerned then might I suggest using a gateway box with ipchains or some linux/BSD firewall. That way you have a real firewalln in fron tof your windows firewall. So much better than trying to run multiple firewalls on one box.

    Hope I haven't bored you.
    Mankind have a great aversion to intellectual labor; but even supposing knowledge to be easily attainable, more people would be content to be ignorant than would take even a little trouble to acquire it.
    - Samuel Johnson

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    281
    Why not stop being paranoid and perhaps just load one firewall and virus scanning.
    You\'re either a 0 or a 1, alive or dead

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    520
    I'd stick with what louie said and just have one firewall and a virus scanner. Having more doesnt nessecarily protect you. (Can't Spell right now) Having more then one actully doesn't help you and remember- every firewall is a service. The more firewalls you have, the more services people can exploit.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    23
    I agree with Louie. Just install one firewall and one anti virus. it will be enough. If you want to have more security. Just buy firewall built-in router plus install one firewall and one anti virus on your pc

  6. #6
    Computer Forensics
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    672
    perhaps you have too many damn firewalls loaded.....there is only so much memory space......
    Antionline in a nutshell
    \"You\'re putting the fate of the world in the hands of a bunch of idiots I wouldn\'t trust with a potato gun\"

    Trust your Technolust

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    143
    Have you ever considered using a couple of NICs to set up a hardware-type firewall? A friend of mine in Tennessee has his system set up this way. And like others suggested, you could then run one good firewall with your AV and be as safe as possible without putting unneeded strain on your OS and memory. Just a thought . . .
    All truths are easy to understand once they are discovered; the point is to discover them. What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    831
    I've often wondered one thing about having multiple personal firewalls installed...
    Which firewall gets the packets first?
    -Matty_Cross
    \"Isn\'t sanity just a one trick pony anyway? I mean, all you get is one trick. Rational Thinking.
    But when you\'re good and crazy, hehe, the skies the limit!!\"

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    366
    Most firewalls come with a warning to not have other firewalls installed. This can cause a loss of protection. Isn't it overkill? Stick with one good firewall and keep your antivirus protection up to date.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    1,193
    what os are you using. If it is win95 or 98 stick with one fw. If it is xp or w2k you can use more than one fw and more than one av.
    Trappedagainbyperfectlogic.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •