Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Are there known methods to bypass foolproof

Question Are there known methods to bypass foolproof

At school I am a computer technician and we may have a problem with certain student bypassing our security. There are several methods which we are aware of however due to other circumstances and evidence we had to rule them out. What other methods are the of cracking/bypassing foolproof. I am not asking how to only what methods can be used (ie: startup disks etc.) I will look into it and see what may have happened. Also over the summer we may be changing to another system as foolproof has been giving us compatibility problems, any suggestion, deepfreeze?
    Arminnius
    arminnius@hotmail.com

str34m3r
    Well, perhaps if I could understand your question a little better I could attempt to help. Slow down and try to ask your question in a more organized manner.

Edit: bypassing foolproof what?

My apologies

At the lab we run the security program "foolproof" (version 4 i think) by smartstuff http://www.smartstuff.com/fps/fpsinfo.html
    the computer run win 98 se

We believe a student was able to trash/crack foolproof and then access the registry and cause chaos.

we had spyware in place to review later what was done however we were not able to return to windows and were forced to format.

I am aware of that a bot disk can be used to delete certain files that prevents the program from running however the floppy drive on this particular computer was not working at the time (jammed with another broken floppy)

the same thing can be done with a cd if you change the settings in bios

apparantly (i have however not confirmed) it is also possible to disabe it from safe mode but we have evidence that the student never went into safe mode.

i was wondering if there were any other such methods of either disabling or entirely trashing/cracking this program

i hope this post is clearer and again my apologies for the original mess
    Arminnius