Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: windows filing system

Question windows filing system

I know that the Win 98 & back versions of windows all have a wierd filing system, where they scatter bits of the file all over the hd, and link them back to file (or so i've been told). I did some research before posting and all the official websites i've been to have said windows switched over to a FAT32 filing system for win2k and after (or so M$ said). What I want to know, is the supposedly new filing system more efficient (as in it actually stores the entire file together on the hdd), or is it the same? Is it even possible now to fix this because of the nature of hdds?

I already searched google for this, and i couldn't find anything other than vague answers. Of course, I'm just a newbie, so everyone but me could know the answer. I also want to know if Linux had this inefficiency in the past or stil does.

thanx for your time, guys! flame me for stupidity if you need to!

str34m3r
    Fat32 is better than FAT 16 because it is better designed fo the large disks that are sold nowadays. As far as I know, it's not any better at handling fragmentation. You'll still have to defragment your hard drives occasionally. The only thing it's better at is handling the larger disks.

hmmm......typical M$ laziness. I stil want to know if linux has this problem.

The Iceman Cometh
    What you're talking about is File Fragmentation. Every Windows-based file system has a certain amount of fragmentation (files split up across the drive), which is why there are defragmentation programs like Defrag, Diskeeper and SpeedDisk. The differences between FAT, FAT32 and NTFS have to do with how many bits is used to store data on the computer. Various sites have tables describing the differences in each. If you search for a string (such as FAT +FAT32 +NTFS +comparison, you should get some hits.

AJ