proxy setting"s
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: proxy setting"s

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    1,050

    proxy setting"s

    hello ppl
    does any 1 know where i can find out what my proxy setting"s should be at at the moment its at 127.0.0.1 i dont know how it got like that.any help will be greatelly appreciated
    By the sacred **** of the sacred psychedelic tibetan yeti ....We\'ll smoke the chinese out
    The 20th century pharoes have the slaves demanding work
    http://muaythaiscotland.com/

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    1,027
    Well, we'd need more details than that to help you...

    What makes you think you need to use a proxy? Is your computer on a LAN or dialup/cable/dsl?

    ISP?

    Ammo
    Credit travels up, blame travels down -- The Boss

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    1,050
    i dont know why i need 2 use a proxy but everything was fine with ie untill about three weeks ago
    im currently using netscape i dial up a number for the internet and my isp is blueyonder
    and evertime i open up ie it trys 2 connect 2 127.0.0.1 on port 1406 i changed my proxy settings 2 the primary dns on my isp website but it
    still trys 2 connect t 127.0.0.1 could i have a virus or is it just winbloze
    By the sacred **** of the sacred psychedelic tibetan yeti ....We\'ll smoke the chinese out
    The 20th century pharoes have the slaves demanding work
    http://muaythaiscotland.com/

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    4,786
    i dont know why i need 2 use a proxy but everything was fine with ie untill about three weeks ago .....when... ? ? ?

    where you browsing sites that, shall we say, were off the beaten path? with active scripting on?

    looks like you might have gotten hit by a malicious script. theres no way of knowing how you need to be configured for your isp, these settings are usually applied by dhcp, but you need to call tech support to fing out. and just incase you didn't know 127.0.0.1 is the loopback code that points your browser back to your own computer. using the dns servers addy probably isn't the right thing to do, usually proxys have their own server, did they give you a set up disk for easy configuration?

    At least check out your isp's support page.
    Bukhari:V3B48N826 “The Prophet said, ‘Isn’t the witness of a woman equal to half of that of a man?’ The women said, ‘Yes.’ He said, ‘This is because of the deficiency of a woman’s mind.’”

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    1,050
    yep tebob i have got a set up disk i checked myisp"s website and set my proxy settings to the primary dns on port 8080 but it still try"s 2 connect 2 my box
    By the sacred **** of the sacred psychedelic tibetan yeti ....We\'ll smoke the chinese out
    The 20th century pharoes have the slaves demanding work
    http://muaythaiscotland.com/

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    3
    How coincidental? There is a game called UPLINK. A very addictive hacker game, from http://www.introversion.co.uk. In that, the gateway with which you log into the internet has the IP : 127.0.0.1.
    Talk about a deja vu.....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •