Personal Server
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Personal Server

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    46

    Question Personal Server

    hi, i would like to set up a pesonal server in my winXP, i would like to host a web site with php, asp, mysql. I would like to limit the bandwich and to limit download and upload, could anyone advise me one that you find secure?


    I heard to that i can get a free redirect service like somename.someserver.com, and since i have a dynamic IP, i could automaticly update the information of the service to redirect it to the new IP, do you know if this is possible, if so where can i get this service?



    Thanx

    by the way sorry for my english, i'm a litle rusty
    -Mamma... Mamma... I want to let school !!! - kid
    -Why my dear? - Mom
    -Because i heard in television that some guy was killed because he knew to much!!!-Kid

  2. #2
    You kinda gotta get a dedicated server/virtual server/colocated server/raq server. When you buy those, you can host websites, email, ftp, and many other things. They are a wee bit on the expensive side. Atleast for me

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    317
    dyndns.org offers the redirection service that you are looking for w/ a dynamic IP. There are others, but I am partial to that one as they will do it free.
    As for the packages you need to install to run all the services you would like, I can't really help you. I've taken to using a *nix based system for all those services. I'm sure you should be able to locate something through google though.

    Regards
    \"I believe that you can reach the point where there is no longer any difference between developing the habit of pretending to believe and developing the habit of believing.\"


  4. #4
    Nice site chefer! I like that site. Looks very neat.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    110
    hi

    i believe mysql is not ported to windows, but let me verify that from their website... wow, i'm wrong. look at that...

    http://www.mysql.org/downloads/os-win32.html
    http://www.mysql.org/downloads/os-nt.html

    new things we learn every day.

    well, you did say secure. and you meant for windows. my recommendation is to learn unix/linux, run apache (or tux, if that is also secure?), it will be able to do php and mysql, however, i believe getting asp to work in apache might be tricky (from experience, but then i could be just dumb).

    as for dynamic dns, check out dyndns.org for one such place, or put in 'dynamic dns' in a search engine.

    regards,
    mark.
    \'hi, welcome to *****. if you would like to speak to an operator, please hang up now.\'
    * click *

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    74

    Thumbs up cool

    I had been considering doing the same thing for expirementation and really just to host my own site. I wonder though is DSL enough to withstand a fairly active site and a couple of people browsing the web?
    The more I deal with people, the more I LOVE my computer.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    4,786
    --------------------------
    I wonder though is DSL enough to withstand a fairly active site and a couple of people browsing the web?

    --------------------------

    dsl can handle your needs as long as your not TOO active, then they'll upgrade your service and charge you more. couple of hundred hits a day no prob. hoever some providers don't allow the use of port 80, and some routers tie it up as a configuration port so your better check to see is that port is available from a remote point.
    Bukhari:V3B48N826 “The Prophet said, ‘Isn’t the witness of a woman equal to half of that of a man?’ The women said, ‘Yes.’ He said, ‘This is because of the deficiency of a woman’s mind.’”

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    46

    Red Hat7.1

    I forgot to mention, i've Red Hat 7.1 running in the same machine, but i don't know much about it, and i've to know how to connect using a RCA modem by usb.

    (i tried once to connect to internet with a diamond modem it was connecting but when i tried to browse sites with Konqueror i get a dns error, altougth i could use command line with ip.)

    i wil try to get some tutorials but i've so much to learn so little time

    Thanx
    -Mamma... Mamma... I want to let school !!! - kid
    -Why my dear? - Mom
    -Because i heard in television that some guy was killed because he knew to much!!!-Kid

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    74
    Okay lets say that either my router requires the use of port80 or my ISP thinks they will be smart and not let me use port 80. Can apache be setup to run off a differant port? I realize that 80 is standard, but I seem to recall reading somewhere that it can easily be changed to like 81 in the event of port conflicts.
    The more I deal with people, the more I LOVE my computer.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    214
    I'm running a small web site off of a dsl connection, and from what I hear from my visitors is that it's no slower or faster than any other site (I thought it would be slower since I only had dsl). Anyway, just don't be downloading a lot of stuff, or be online too often, because then it will be slower. But you should at least have a deticated server, even if its a $700 one from the store -- just so the server is not the same one you use for internet browsing.

    -Mike
    Either get busy living or get busy dying.

    -The Sawshank Redemption

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •