Operating Systems, wow.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Operating Systems, wow.

Operating Systems, wow.

Lately I have been spending more time filling in my knowledge gaps, well today I decided I wanted to learn more about Operating Systems so I went to visit my trusty friend google and here is what I found, http://www.howstuffworks.com/operating-system1.htm

I knew about unix based operating systems, windows operating systems and macintosh but I thought it ended there. Now I am learning that it there are specialized operating systems made for robotics, industrial controll, mainframes and more. I have a diploma in Electronics Engineering so this is very interesting for me. I knew that you can program these chips called PLDs (Programable Logic Devices) and you could program processors and microcontrollers to be used in robotics, but I never thought operating systems were needed. I am a mix between a electronics hobyist and a computer geek, if you may call me that. I have a wide spectrim of interest when it comes to computers. Anyways to bring this thread to a point, has anyone here had any experience with operating systems other then Unix, Windows and mac OSs,. Also if you have used difernt versions of Unix what ones have you tryed.
    In snatches, they learn something of the wisdom
    which is of good, and more of the mere knowledge which is of evil. But must I know what must not come, for I shale become those of knowledgedome. Peace~

Well, I played around with the short lived BeOS for a while.
    Wine maketh merry: but money answereth all things.
    --Ecclesiastes 10:19

Just a Virtualized Geek MrLinus's Avatar
    I've messed around with the following OSes at one point or another:

MacOS 6-X
    Novell 4x-5x
    Windows DOS-Win2K
    *Nix(Solaris 7-8, Redhat Linux5.2-7.2, Yellow Dog Linux, Suse, bit of VMS/VAX)

I think that's all of them. Never got to BEos or NeXT but wanted to try them.