Thread: Discovering Linux

Discovering Linux

I have a box running linux distro 7.0. And a whole lot of friends running windows. I have been teaching them the operating system, and have a telnet server running on it. (i know, its not secure but eh, its to teach with and is no big deal to reformat)I give them accounts with near super user ability. As a precation to me, i was wondering if there was any software to moniter what they were doing localy, and if not how to create a log file for individual users that are using it. i dont mind them using it, but if funny crap starts happening. i want to know what user did what. i am a linux newbie, but i still want to help others learn it to. And by offering them a free shell acount with near no restrictions i feel i am bettering their knowledge of operating systems.

Another question i had was, I cannot get my laptop to connect to the internet (it is the one running linux) with its modem, and i had to use my lan to connect it via Winproxy (I have like no money and it is running out of its 30 days i am willing to pay for software but am looking to see if there is anything out there that would work better) to my desktop which is connected to the net with a 56k. Is there any other software that you can recomend that has the functionality of a gateway that works if windows connects to the net and sends all trafic to the linux box, i have tried and i cannot find a "linmodem" driver that supports my laptops modem.

Thank you for any assistance you can offer
    -Blaze tech

use Tripwire to monitor important files & logs
    Don't give them near super user ability, give them normal shells, if they want / need root make them justify it.